Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was delicious after I made changes as suggested by others and a few of my own. 1. I couldn’t find black bean soup anywhere, so I added a half a can of black beans rinsed. (I saved half for Vegetarian Quesadillas that I’m trying later in the week!) 2. I used diced tomatoes, since that is what I had at home. I would probably put a second can in next time. 3. Frozen instead of canned corn. 4. A lot more chili powder than it calls for and a little bit of cumin. 5. I also added 2 jalapeños for a little extra kick and two chili’s in adobo sauce because I had them leftover. 6. I cooked it on low for 6.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Was wonderful and the whole family loved it! Just recently started eating a vegatarian diet after reading Forks Over Knives, and was looking for tasty recipes. This one will be repeated many times! Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Like other reviewers, I thought it smelled wonderful while cooking. It just was rather bland and too sweet. I would have left out the baked beans, added more chili pepper, a bit of salt, and perhaps cayenne to give it spice. I would not call this chili, instead I would call it a bean stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
We made this during a healthy dinner week and it was so easy and delicious! Very healthy too with all the beans and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We suggest adding jalapeño double the chilli powder, plus chives as a garnish. Vegan cheese is also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This Vegetarian Chili is amazing! It came out perfect with little to no effort. I wasn't able to find Progresso Black Bean Soup, so I just used a can of Black Beans. I also omitted the celery. It was delicious. I also topped tortilla chips with this chili with cheese and sour cream, made great nachos too. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
The recipe as written is very bland so I dumped in more spices to taste. I ended up probably more than doubling the amount of spices called for and added at least a tablespoon of cumin. I also added chopped carrot and jalapeno. I would rate this 4-4.5 stars with the added spices considering it tasted fairly good, was budget friendly, and made a lot of food. Maybe next time I'll try it with lentils for a "meatier" texture with veggie broth to make more liquid, although the carrots did add a little crunch to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This gets a thumbs down from me (sorry!). My dad is helping my husband cut trimwork today, so I made lunch for them. Because my pops is on a heart-restrictive diet, I was leaning toward a healthy, non-fat meal. Between the three of us, my dad is the only one who liked this enough to have a second helping. Surprisingly enough, my "bean hating" husband liked this too, but it's unlikely he would jump out of his seat to eat it again. I couldn't even stomach more than two mouthfuls. To be fair, I am awarding 3 stars simply because the opinions on this were so divided. For me, there were two glaring problems with this. For one, all of my veggies were crunchy (they could stand to slow cook MUCH longer than 2 hours). My main complaint however, is that I felt something was missing and was constantly reminded of this after every bite. I guess I have conditioned myself to only like traditional chili with beef.... Since my dad thought this was fantastic, he's getting all the leftovers lol! If for nothing other than finding a healthy chili my dad can enjoy, this wasn't a complete waste of effort. :) Thanks anyways, sellitman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I made this for a Soup Cook-off at work and won first place! So many people asked me for the recipe and commented on how good it was. I am not a cook so this was really all about the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States