Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked it. Doubt I'd make it again though. This recipe made me realize I don't care for a sweet chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I make this recipe about once a month. I love it and everyone else in my house does too. I make the chili vegetarian, but then I brown ground turkey and ground beef so that people who want meat can add meat to their chili. Great for after skiing or a long day. Instead of using regular tomatoes I use Rotel tomatoes and for a little extra kick I use a small can of Hatch chilies, but the recipe is awesome as written. I serve it with low fat shour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
A really good hearty soup, or maybe even stew, but please don't call it chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Unbelievably good. Fast and easy. Can't wait to taste again tomorrow! Used all ingredients as stated in recipe with the following exceptions: 1) replaced black bean soup with black beans 2) added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes (w/ basil, oregano and garlic) 3) added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes (w/ basil, oregano and garlic) instead of 14 oz can of chopped tomato pureed 4) added 2 teaspoons of cajun seasoning 5) added chopped green onions too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Great for a potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is wonderful. My family loves it--including my vegetarian teen son. I call it "Cowboy Stew," though, because it's like the cowboy stews we made at Girl Scout camp. And also, as a Texan, I refuse to call anything with beans in it "chili," as real Texas chili has no beans! I made some moderations. This recipe looked more Italian to me, and I wanted to spice it up. I traded ancho chili, adobo seasoning for the basil and oregano. I used a poblano and a serrano instead of bell peppers. (And once when I made it I added dried jalapenos but did that in place of serrano.) I also added Morningstar Farms Crumbles--not that it needed any more protein. But I wanted to stretch it a bit. this has become a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe is very forgiving in that you can use vegetables you have on hand and omit things. I did not use the Italian spices and omitted the garlic (my husband can't eat garlic, poor thing). It was fantastic! Next time I will add some diced green chilis for a bit of spicy heat, but the flavor was great. We had it with honey cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was FABULOUS!!! Had to make a number of substitutions but it still came out terrific. My whole family loved it. I served it with whole wheat couscous and a little shredded cheese as a topper. SOOOOO easy!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Surprisingly tasty! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a fun chili to make. It is a tad sweet what with the baked beans. It tasted better with sour cream added to the bowl. I am not sure that I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States