Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Easy, customizable, lots of flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarensPerspective

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've never rated anything. This chili was excellent. First time I ever made it and was really concerned about how it would come out. Everyone, including kids aged 3 to 13 loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. I did tweak it a tiny bit. Used about 2/3 Tbspn of chili powder for kids who are not into hot spices and I added about one tspn cumin as suggested by others. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Best slow cooker vegetarian chili I've tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fulfan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I started with 1/2 C each of dry black, navy, kidney and garbanzo beans. Did a quick soak and then cooked in fresh water with an onion, 3 small cloves chopped garlic and some fresh chopped parsley. The black and navy beans cooked in 1/2 hour, kidney in about 45 minutes and took and hour for the garbanzo. Next time I'll know in what order to cook the beans and add the faster cooking ones later. After cooking beans on the stove top I drained, reserving some of the liquid and added them with all the other ingredients to a crock pot to cook on high (used 1 yellow and 1 green pepper). Had to add additional salt because I cooked my own beans, and put some cumin in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious. Great with corn bread. Used Trader Joes Black Bean Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was just OK! The only change I made was instead of 2 hours on high I cooked it 6 hours on low. I wasnt that impressed with the flavor. I dont think I will be making this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it 4 times in the last two months. I use 2 cans of black beans instead of the black bean soup (which is hard to find). I don't always have green pepper, so I add extra celery. Based on other reviews, I eliminate the Italian seasonings. I use 2 tablespoons of chili powder. The recipe is forgiving. Use it as a base and modify based on what you have and what you like. It freezes very well. I cook it at 2 hours on high, and then turn it on low until I am ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very easy and delicious. We eat ours with cornbread- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delish! I made this for my vegetarian friend's birthday and it was a hit with both meat and non-meat eaters! I did sub chili beans for garbanzos since that what I had on hand and altered the herbs more to taste.I let this cook on high for a little over 2 hours and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yummy and easy. I didn't use the italian seasonings but stuck with Mex. ones. Used salsa instead of tomato. Cook longer for better mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States