Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
So not good. The spices are just off. I think it's the oregano. Would probably be fine with regular chili seasoning, but that would be a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great flavor I did make some changes, I added 1 lb of browned ground beef, 1 cup broth I used chicken because I had it on hand but beef broth would work too. I changed the spices also I used lots of chili powder, 1 tsp ground coriander, 1 1/2 tsp cumin and about 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. Gave it a very nice sweet/ spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyTrap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was fantastic! I didn't change a single thing and it turned out wonderfully! This is a definite keeper. (My 10 yr old had 2 helpings!) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimeUnEnding

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Outstanding and easy to make on the stove top, too. I served with grated cheese and chopped cilantro. It was delicious. Did not have chopped tomatoes in puree so used 1 can crushed tomatoes. Also added more garlic and some cumin. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My dad adds meat to everything I cook for him except for this.. he thought it was googd the way it was. Being rednecks the only way we changed it was by adding potato chips on top for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corunna, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal! This was my first time using a slow cooker and I'm a vegetarian so I went with this recipe after reading the reviews. You really can't mess this one up, it's delicious. I did add 'soy meat' crumbles which add a little something extra and left the my cooker on low all day while at work. Thanks again for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was way too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tolerable, but much to tomato-y. The soup "juice" was almost like a watery marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made it as written and with suggested changes (no parsley, oregano, or basil, and extra tomatoes and soy ground beef). I liked this chili as written but loved it without the Italian spices. I don't think the extra tomatoes made much difference to us, except that I guess it keeps it soupy if you're adding the soy grounds since they can be dry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very very very yummy this one is getting added to my winter comfort food go to's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States