Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
OUTSTANDING! Took a pot to our church soup and bread supper and had to keep folks from sopping up the bottom of the crock pot with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayjwu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Woowee! This is awesome! I was a little skeptical when I was making it... especially putting in a whole tablespoon of basil, but man is this delicious! It makes a huge batch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Dargatz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is SOOOO easy and my kids (15, 13 & 11) LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This chili was wonderful. This was my first time making a chili without meat and I was a bit apprehensive about the ingredients, the garbanzo beans in particular. I made this recipe as written yet within my own bowl I did add a touch of Chinese Chili Paste for the extra kick. My husband thought it was great and we both found it to be very satisfying and filling. It looks pretty in the bowl too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved it. Along with recommended vegetables I used a can of black bean soup and drained some liquid, half a can of baked beans with brown sugar, 1 can diced tomato with green chiles and 1 without. I omitted the celery and italian seasonings and added 1 tablespoon chili powder and 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper. I cooked on low for 6 hours and ended up adding tomato paste to thicken. Delicious. Served with whole grain chips and cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Fabulous Vegetarian recipe!! Wow!! My whole family loved it!! I have one who doesn't eat meat so this is perfect for all of us, and healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight, and it was exactly the type of filling, vegetarian alternative to the traditional chili I've been looking for. I will definitely be making this again soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this is really easy to make and what I consider comfort food. I had to include some meat for my husband so I browned a pound of ground turkey. Also I didn't have the dried herbs so I substituted them with Italian seasoning and also added some cumin like someone suggested for the smoky flavor. I think next time I would add some spinach to sneak in more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bj1020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I've made this a few times now, and I keep changing it up. I like to use cans of diced tomatoes with green chiles to give it a bit of a kick, along with the 3 tbsp of Chili powder, 3 Tbsp of Cumin, and 2 tsp of Cayenne. Amy's makes a great Black Bean Soup that I like to use, and I compensate for the lack of liquid in the smaller can with extra tomatoes. Anyway I make it - always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great! Used for company chili cookoff and was the only vegetarian chili there! I added about a teaspoon of chopped fresh jalepeno pepper and some tomato paste. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States