Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My whole family loved it! Easy healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little bland as is but I added some salt and the flavors popped. I usually don't require salt in my food. Other than that I used black beans instead of black bean soup and I couldn't find tomatoes in puree so I just added a small can of tomato paste. Very hearty and filling! I think the addition of a jalapeno or two might be the only change I make next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Loved it! Tweeked it a bit. Used can of black beans instead of can of soup. Only one celery stalk. And an extra large can of baked beans. Served with corn muffins - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought the recipe as-is is too sweet, probably from the baked beans. I made this again, but with canned black beans, instead of the soup, and omitted the baked beans altogether. I added some water to compensate for the bean soup substitution. Oh, I also sub a red, orange, or yellow bell pepper for the green. I seasoned with celery salt and pepper and increased the chili powder. This made the recipe into a hearty, savory dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This chili tasted pretty good, not to mention that it was super easy to make. (My co-workers raved about it!) I made the recipe exactly as written and, as some reviewers stated, it appeared to be thick and dry. However, after it was cooked, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it became juicy! (Note: This recipe calls for one 19-ounce can of black bean soup; it does not mention the word "condensed". If some of the reviewers used condensed soup, that would explain for the lack of juiciness in their final product.) One more thing ... I cooked the chili on high for 4 hours, then another 4 hours on low (2 hours would not have been long enough to cook the onions & celery, plus meld the flavors, in my opinion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kinda bland.... Try again with my own touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! The only tweak I made was doubling the garlic. Everyone I have made this for absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is my GO-TO veggie chili recipe! I'd made it more times than i can count. Absolutely love it. Crazy easy to make. Can go as far as throwing it all in the crock (& fridge) before bed and then putting it on the slow cooker in the morning. I've normally slow cooked mine for 8 hours on low, but have cooked it on high for 2 hours as well. I've tried on the stovetop too. All were superb. My only alteration: I've never used the black bean soup. Instead i've replaced it with 1 can of black beans (rinsed) and 12-16 ounces of bouillon stock. Oh, and it freezes really well! I usually make a huge vat of it, divvy it up into serving and freeze 80% of it for future lunches or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this for an orchestrated church potluck for which we were told to bring our favorite toppings for potatoes. It filled my 7-qt crockpot. I made the recipe as written at home and started cooking it at church before service--about 2.5 hours before lunch time. I was at the end of the serving line--and the chili was gone! Several people complimented it an asked for the recipe, which is my reason for 5 stars. In making it for my household, I will definitely add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States