Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Nothing great. I would not make it again. I am a vegetarian, but my family is not. But I didn't like it. Tried adding hot peppers to add flavor. Served with mexican cheese and corn tortillas. More of a soup than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I decided to give this recipe 4 stars, mostly because it was a great jumping off point for an amazing chili. I made a significant amount of changes thanks to previous reviewers (you guys rock) and my own past chili experiences. I added 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes with zesty chiles and a poblano pepper to increase the kick. I left out the basil, oregano, and parsley. I tripled the chili powder (3 Tbsp chili powder), then added 1 Tbsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp cocoa powder. I also added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke. When I mixed everything up, I wasn't convinced there was enough liquid so I wound up adding 1 cup of water with 1 bullion cube. Learning experience: that was way too much liquid. I put it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on low, 2 hours on high plus an extra 30 minutes of cooking on high with the lid off thanks to my fears about the lack of liquid (oops). Next time I'd probably stick to 1/2 cup broth (though it might not need any at all). My boyfriend had three servings, even venturing to say it was the best chili he's ever had! He didn't even miss the meat! A meal that makes both the vegetarian and meat-eater happy? This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and kids really loves this recipe! I use other veges such as zucchini...I think whatever you want to throw in will taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Rose
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious and healthy! Im with everyone else who says leave out the sweetness of baked beans and add a little more tomatoes and chili powder. I also added 2 onions and double the kidney beans. Ill be freezing the leftovers for another meal later in the month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i, like others add mushrooms, cumin, peppers, chili flakes, and a bit of sugar. It is an excellent recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Perfect with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I just made this yesterday. It is really good! I like things a little spicier so I added more chili powder and some cumin. Otherwise I just followed the ingredients as given. I doubled it and cooked it on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNINGMOMMYOF2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My whole family loved it! Easy healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little bland as is but I added some salt and the flavors popped. I usually don't require salt in my food. Other than that I used black beans instead of black bean soup and I couldn't find tomatoes in puree so I just added a small can of tomato paste. Very hearty and filling! I think the addition of a jalapeno or two might be the only change I make next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States