Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Maybe I need to cook it longer...but with only 2 hours on high the garbanzo beans were still crunchy. And it didn't have much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times and it's a hit for me (veggie) and my fiancee (celiac). I've found though that 2 hours isn't long enough for it to simmer – the celery is still too crunchy and the flavors haven't fully evolved at 2 hours. I find that the chili is best after about 4 hours, and my favorite after a night in the fridge (leftovers for the win!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Ralph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
YUMMY! If you're thinking about making this. Do it. It's even better left over. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The spices added to the chili clashed with the spices in the prepared soup and baked beans. Still looking for a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Couple of things: good recipe overall. Took 4 hours on HIGH in my slow cooker, not two hours. Probably all slow cookers vary cooking times. I used frozen corn instead of canned corn to cut down on salt. I added 28 ozs of crushed San Marzano tomatoes. At the suggestion of a reviewer, I swapped the oregano for 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon of ground coriander seed. My wife really liked the taste of that spice mix and she is fussy. We really liked the flavor. Ate some, froze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I combined the original recipe with some of the reviews and it turned out to be delicious! This is what I used: pinto beans instead of vegetarian baked beans, 1 big can of diced tomatoes instead of a small one, 2 onions instead of 1, 1 green, 1 yellow, and 1 red pepper instead of just one green pepper, 2 tablespoons of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of cumin, half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper, salt, and black pepper. I dropped the parsley, oregano, and basil and cooked on high for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtruman42
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
First try at crockpot chili and this one is very good. I made a couple of modifications. Used chopped tomatoes with jalapenos and added a can of chipotles in adobo for some heat. Added a couple of carrots for some sweetness too. It turned out to be VERY hot (which is fine with me). The adobo made it a bit too smoky though. The next day I browned up a pound of ground turkey and combine that with half of the original batch of chili and put it back in the crockpot for a couple dollars. It turned out great! Not vegetarian chili anymore, but awesome!! I will definitely try this one again and experiment with different ways to add heat. The other thing that I liked about this recipe was that it fit perfectly in my 5 quart crockpot. Too many other recipes are sized for a bigger pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Pretty good, added chipotle chili flakes to give it some more cook. Make sure you dice the onions small. Makes a great dip for corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Palevski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made this at least 4 times now and love it. The only things I do different is use fire-roasted tomatoes in lieu of regular and add one whole red pepper. this is so good and hearty. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States