Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My whole family loved it! Easy healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little bland as is but I added some salt and the flavors popped. I usually don't require salt in my food. Other than that I used black beans instead of black bean soup and I couldn't find tomatoes in puree so I just added a small can of tomato paste. Very hearty and filling! I think the addition of a jalapeno or two might be the only change I make next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Loved it! Tweeked it a bit. Used can of black beans instead of can of soup. Only one celery stalk. And an extra large can of baked beans. Served with corn muffins - YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I thought the recipe as-is is too sweet, probably from the baked beans. I made this again, but with canned black beans, instead of the soup, and omitted the baked beans altogether. I added some water to compensate for the bean soup substitution. Oh, I also sub a red, orange, or yellow bell pepper for the green. I seasoned with celery salt and pepper and increased the chili powder. This made the recipe into a hearty, savory dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This chili tasted pretty good, not to mention that it was super easy to make. (My co-workers raved about it!) I made the recipe exactly as written and, as some reviewers stated, it appeared to be thick and dry. However, after it was cooked, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it became juicy! (Note: This recipe calls for one 19-ounce can of black bean soup; it does not mention the word "condensed". If some of the reviewers used condensed soup, that would explain for the lack of juiciness in their final product.) One more thing ... I cooked the chili on high for 4 hours, then another 4 hours on low (2 hours would not have been long enough to cook the onions & celery, plus meld the flavors, in my opinion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kinda bland.... Try again with my own touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! The only tweak I made was doubling the garlic. Everyone I have made this for absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is my GO-TO veggie chili recipe! I'd made it more times than i can count. Absolutely love it. Crazy easy to make. Can go as far as throwing it all in the crock (& fridge) before bed and then putting it on the slow cooker in the morning. I've normally slow cooked mine for 8 hours on low, but have cooked it on high for 2 hours as well. I've tried on the stovetop too. All were superb. My only alteration: I've never used the black bean soup. Instead i've replaced it with 1 can of black beans (rinsed) and 12-16 ounces of bouillon stock. Oh, and it freezes really well! I usually make a huge vat of it, divvy it up into serving and freeze 80% of it for future lunches or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this for an orchestrated church potluck for which we were told to bring our favorite toppings for potatoes. It filled my 7-qt crockpot. I made the recipe as written at home and started cooking it at church before service--about 2.5 hours before lunch time. I was at the end of the serving line--and the chili was gone! Several people complimented it an asked for the recipe, which is my reason for 5 stars. In making it for my household, I will definitely add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a total bomb! No one would eat it, I tasted it and I couldn't eat it either, too bland and the tastes did not go together. I won't make it again. My son-in-law who eats any and everything wouldn't even eat it. I'm sorry but this just doesn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States