Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Absolutely love this sloppy joe recipe. The cloves make a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit. I ALWAYS have leftovers - but not last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenBlair
Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
i can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet!!! I LOVE this sloppy Joe recipe. It's rich and sweet and tangy and SO much better than Manwich. I think I'll make them this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe was pretty good, and I agree with a lot of other commenters, that the cloves really make this recipe stand out. This was a good weekend meal for us, but it takes quite a while to make so I don't know if I could make it during the week. By the time you chop the green pepper and onion, cook the ground been, and then combine all of the ingredients and let it simmer...yeah, that would be a late dinner for us. My husband, two year old, and I all really liked it, and my five year old thought it was just okay. I will probably make this again sometime. Thank you for the recipe, JENNCARLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this. Don't be afraid of the cloves; just sprinkle a dash over the skillet. I used half the brown sugar; a small tin of paste instead of sauce, because that's what I have.No peppers either. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
awesome recipe i love the clove i never would have thought of it myself but the flavors go so well and the clove just ties them together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
After I browned the hamb, onion and pepper, I threw it all in a crockpot with the remaining ingredients. I didn't have any cloves,so omitted it. I missed that part of not having to add more vinegar if doubling it. I actually tripled the recipe and tripled the vinegar. I still wanted it a bit more tang to it and added yet another tbls. of mustard. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Loved this classic recipe a lot. It has a good, thick consistency and a wonderful tangy flavor. If you're not a fan of clove, I would suggest omitting it altogether. I personally feel that it is what makes this recipe sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkrockess

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Followed the recipe completely and it was very tasty, quite fragrant and had a wonderful texture. Everybody loved them. I was a little leery about the cloves but added it as described and had no regrets. This recipe is a new staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runner736
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Thank you Grandma! Very yummy and so very quick! Only minor adjustments from me. Only 1/2 c Ketchup & also add 1 can 10oz Tomato Puree (not tomato sauce). Just a 'dash' of cloves, salt & pepper to taste, and 2 cloves Garlic while sauteing the meat. I've used both ground Turkey and beef and they both work out great! I use Balsamic for the vinegar. I dash my burger with hot sauce to give mine an extra zip of spice! You need to try these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States