Grandma's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I did not like the taste of the cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
GREAT Recipe. I have made this 4 or 5 times now basically following JENNCARLEN's directions. I like a little more spice, so a bit of black pepper and, when I'm in the mood, some red pepper for extra punch really does it. I tend to half the green pepper, but that's just a personal preference. The CLOVE is the key - what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
You have to put the cloves! Even if you do 1/4 tsp... It makes this recipe amazing. I also added 1 tbs of Worcestershire sauce. My family loves them so mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Lara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Derek Ashworth
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is very similar to my Granny's recipe. I didn't add the cloves and I used 2 Tbsp of the brown sugar, and I added a 1/4 of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Ashworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Absolutely love this sloppy joe recipe. The cloves make a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit. I ALWAYS have leftovers - but not last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenBlair
Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
i can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet!!! I LOVE this sloppy Joe recipe. It's rich and sweet and tangy and SO much better than Manwich. I think I'll make them this weekend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe was pretty good, and I agree with a lot of other commenters, that the cloves really make this recipe stand out. This was a good weekend meal for us, but it takes quite a while to make so I don't know if I could make it during the week. By the time you chop the green pepper and onion, cook the ground been, and then combine all of the ingredients and let it simmer...yeah, that would be a late dinner for us. My husband, two year old, and I all really liked it, and my five year old thought it was just okay. I will probably make this again sometime. Thank you for the recipe, JENNCARLEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this. Don't be afraid of the cloves; just sprinkle a dash over the skillet. I used half the brown sugar; a small tin of paste instead of sauce, because that's what I have.No peppers either. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
awesome recipe i love the clove i never would have thought of it myself but the flavors go so well and the clove just ties them together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States