Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe because of the rave reviews. I am an experienced pie baker and I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I think next time I will try adding a sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
perfect as written, I do chill the dough sometimes for 24 hrs,Very tasty crust.Follow directions and you won't be dissapointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque Tanner Levine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This crust is delicious! It is super flaky, though. If you're going for flaky, this is your crust! It doesn't hold together so well when serving because of the flakiness, so if you're going for that picture-perfect slice, this might not be the recipe for you. Excellent texture when eating, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I went into this with such high hopes. It didn't work though I followed directions to the letter. I chilled bowls and dough. It wasn't too humid. It was floury tasting and fell apart even with the addition of more liquids. Oh well, the grocery store version isn't horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great crust, easy and simple. The flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This crust is hearty and thick. The best ever.. I made the crust and chilled it for an hour as suggested. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I finally got a pie crust that "worked" and also tasted good. After chilling for 30 min this rolled out nicely and didn't stick to the counter (light flour dusting). I made half the recipe and ended up with a 9" crust and a 5" tart shell. It wasn't as flaky as I would have liked but I used butter so that may be why and it was humid so I think that lent to it being a little softer when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is simple and does make a flakey crust but it tastes awful!! All you taste is flour. I thought with Cherry filling it would be all right but it wasn't.. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Good crust but hard to roll out, a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States