Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I tried this crust for the first time, and made one HUGE mistake. After a 1/2 hour conversation with my grandmother on how to "cut in" shortening, I didn't knead the dough before I used it. Instead, it sat in my fridge overnight to set as loose granules. The end result: too crumbly. What a mess! Four tries to get it into the dish. This wasn't the fault of the recipe. Make sure you add water until you get a ball that has the consitency of playdough. Great tasting crust! A word of advice: get someone to show you how to roll dough, don't try it alone on your first go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
very good, nice and flaky and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
it's easy to make and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I'am so glad I found this recipe! I had this recipe once before in a old cookbook that was given to me by my mother-in-law and I lost the cookbook. It is the best!!! Thank-You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Simple, easy and never-fail pie crust. Only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Kiss your Grandma for me! This is the first crust that didn't have me swearing and in tears! Very good and manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
GREAT pie crust. I used this recipe to make a peach cobbler and it was outstanding. GOOD JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really wonderful. Tasted SO GOOD and so easy to work with. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Simplicity best describes this pastry. It was easy to make, rolled out and handled well, and was flaky, light and rich. A Perfect Five.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Our family has used this recipe for years and with good reason! Dependable, easy to work with and TASTY!! We always used cider vinegar though, but it doesn't seem to matter. I always add a scoche more water (1/2 tbs.) and always refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFFERTYCT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States