Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to follow! I used the 'Blueberry Pie' recipe from Beth and the results were outstanding! I had a lot of crust dough left over, so I rolled it out, spread it with cinnamon and sugar, cut it into strips, and baked it until golden.....nice little snack for my daughter! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This crust was amazing. I've always been terrified of pie crust, but this recipe came together so easily! I used it to make "Sweet Potato Pie I" from allrecipes for my Thanksgiving dinner and everyone wanted the recipe. It was definitely a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
OH MY GOD! This was the best homemeade crust I have ever tasted! Using a pastry blender made cutting in the butter super easy and all ingredients combined perfectly. Usually I am a spaz at rolling out dough, but this recipe rolled out so wonderfully! I used it for lattice work and it was a great touch for my infamous apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
The first time I made this I only had 1/2 of the regular Crisco so I had to use Butter flavored Crisco for the remaining amount the recipe called for. So, I had problems with the crust but the flavor was AWESOME!!! My family and inlaws loved it. The second time I made it I used regular Crisco and the dough was so easy to work with and the flavor was still good. My family wants me to make it like I did the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I'm sorry but this crust was really bad. I have been making pies for a long time and my own crust always comes out great. I thought I would try someone elses, this one. It came out tough and hard it waisted my hole pie. I did not overwork it at all. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This is the best ever pie crust I have ever tried. Holds its shape without using weights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
PERFECT! I used to hate making pie crusts because they were so unmanageable or brittle. This recipe is wonderful. For the first time in my baking experience I have been able to make a beautiful pie crust with fluted edges without any hassles. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I use this recipe now instead of the standby that I have used for years. I think it makes a flaker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Thankyou sooooo much for the perfect pie crust! I have looked for a while, and I have finally found it, my husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I tried this crust for the first time, and made one HUGE mistake. After a 1/2 hour conversation with my grandmother on how to "cut in" shortening, I didn't knead the dough before I used it. Instead, it sat in my fridge overnight to set as loose granules. The end result: too crumbly. What a mess! Four tries to get it into the dish. This wasn't the fault of the recipe. Make sure you add water until you get a ball that has the consitency of playdough. Great tasting crust! A word of advice: get someone to show you how to roll dough, don't try it alone on your first go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States