Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Simplicity best describes this pastry. It was easy to make, rolled out and handled well, and was flaky, light and rich. A Perfect Five.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Our family has used this recipe for years and with good reason! Dependable, easy to work with and TASTY!! We always used cider vinegar though, but it doesn't seem to matter. I always add a scoche more water (1/2 tbs.) and always refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFFERTYCT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Very easy, flaky, and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Terrible recipie, came out witht the consistancy of silly puddy. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
this crust was so perfect for my Pineapple Pie but did not go well with my blueberry pie .. but five stars for great taste itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
very easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I have had wonderful results with this recipe. Over the last few months I have made a couple of additions though. Add about 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the flour along with the salt. Increase the water to 5 1/2 tbsp. Then, after baking, just sprinle some granulated white sugar on top after brushing with an egg white. Awesome results!!! Even for the recreational baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This recipe gets two stars only because it was very flaky, although almost to the point of falling apart. I don't know what went wrong, but it was ABSOLUTELY bland! It was so tasteless. I will never make it again. I am still in search of a pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I've worked with many different types of pie crusts and for me they've all been pretty unmanageable. I mean, I've been able to make all of the recipes that I've tried, but they've been pretty big pains. To their credit, most of them turned out tasting good and were nice and flaky, but I ended up dreading making the crust so much that I didn't want to make pies very often (and I LOVE to bake so that's kind of rare for me). Anyway, long story short, this crust rocks! It was so simple to make, it was very easy to roll out and get in the pie pan, and it is so crumbly and perfect!!!!! I am veryyyyyy happy with this recipe! I never bother to rate anything or do reviews, but I couldn't even keep myself from reviewing this one because I have to gush to someone about how great it is!!!!! Thank you Grandma for being such a great cook and thank you Felicia for Sharing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
A great flaky pie crust. I liked that the dough was easy to work with and was firm after baking - no soggy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States