Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Don't do what I did and forget the water! I did, however go back and add the water after trying to roll it out and failing. This is a wonderfully forgiving crust. I use Smart Balance to help overcome the guilt of so much shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This got to be the most easy pie crust recipe I've used. The best thing is it came out great. I did not have pastry blender nor flour/butter cutter, I just used the very old tool of mine - hand. I subsitute vineger with lemon juice (thats what I have in the fridge), I did not have full 1 1/4 cup of butter, I put in 1/2 cup of canola oil instead to make up that amount of fat. I dump in 2 tbsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of baking powder along with the flour. great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Absolutely fabulous, What used to be my "achillies heel" of baking is now my bragging right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
the best pie crust I ever had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
There simply isn't a yummier pie crust recipe out there. I used this for the delicious Honey Pecan Pie (also outstanding recipe on this site) which made the show stopper of the Thanksgiving holiday. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was the first time I'd ever made a homemade pie shell. This recipe made it so easy. It was very easy to work with and came out flaky and very tasty. I don't think I can ever use a store-bought pie shell again. I will most definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This crust came out beautiful. I modified it a little bit by using butter instead of shortening, adding 1 tablespoon of suger, and adding quite a bit more iced water (probably like 6 tablespoons or more). I cut the butter in with a pastry cutter and then used a spoon just sort of go around the bowl lifting the lose dough until it came together. I divided it into two balls, wrapped them in plastic wrap, pressed them down into two discs, and then refrigerated them for about two hours. I rolled them out between two sheets of waxed paper and they didn't stick much at all -- much less than other recipes I've tried. I made pumpkin pies and they came out great. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This reciped worked out great for me. I used the butter flavored Crisco and the crust had a very nice flavor, was flaky and was easy to handle. Will use this recipe again. Thanks Felicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to follow! I used the 'Blueberry Pie' recipe from Beth and the results were outstanding! I had a lot of crust dough left over, so I rolled it out, spread it with cinnamon and sugar, cut it into strips, and baked it until golden.....nice little snack for my daughter! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This crust was amazing. I've always been terrified of pie crust, but this recipe came together so easily! I used it to make "Sweet Potato Pie I" from allrecipes for my Thanksgiving dinner and everyone wanted the recipe. It was definitely a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States