Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This is a great recipe. My crust was very gooey! But I simply rolled it out between two peices of wax paper and easily tranferred it to my pie pan. When the crust was cooked, it was buttery...flaky...and very very good. Note: I added about two tablespoons of sugar to mine to give the crust an extra sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Thankyou so very much for this recipe. I now have a pie crust to use for the rest of my life. THE DOUGH ROLLED OUT SO EASILY WITH NOTHING STICKING TO THE ROLLING PIN!!!!The crust turned out so flaky and delicious too. I also made Beth's Blueberry Pie and the whole thing was a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
My grandmother gave me this recipe when I first got married 17 years ago. After countless pies, it truly has "never failed" me. People rave about this crust as much as they do the actual pie! I've even doubled and tripled the recipe for bake sales and it comes out beautifully every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
I just tried this pie crust since it got such great reviews. I am very disappointed in it. It didn't roll out easily, it was falling apart as I tried to put it in the pie pan. I followed the directions closely and measured my ingredients carefully. I've put the other half in the refrigerator to see if that helps. But I'm moving onto another recipe for tonight's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Excellent pie crust. It was easy to work with and it turned out fabulous. I made "Blueberry Pie" from this site and used a lattice top. It was beautiful. I still can't believe I'm able to make a homemade pie turn out so well. :-) Since I had quite a bit of dough left over, I rolled it out, cut it into strips and baked them with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top. My kids ate them up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I cut this recipe in half and only made one pie crust. It was easy to make and the crust turned out nice and flakey. It also tasted good! I rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper and it transfered into the pie plate nicely. This recipe is definately going into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Absolutely the best pie crust recipe I've ever used! No need to chill it - it rolls out perfectly, is easy to form and bakes up flaky and beautiful. Many thanks to Felicia's grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is a good pie crust and rolled out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I have been making pies for years and was tired of the same recipe. I think the vinagar mixture is the key and this is the recipe I will use from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Not quite like my grandma made, but it is a great crust recipe. I found it to go best with apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States