Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is the perfect pie crust recipe!I'm 15 and love baking,but I always hated making pies because my crusts were always hard to work with and didn't turn out very good.I used this recipe last night and it was PERFECT!Easy to handle,no holes and very flaky when baked.This is now my permanent pie crust recipe.Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
The most delicious, light, flaky pastry I have ever made for my pies - and that's saying something! I made it with butter, as usual, and YUM! For the flakiest pastry, stop cutting in the shortening when it is about the size of a pea, no finer. People who say the recipe didn't work for them, please remember that there are many variables when adding liquid to flour: eggs aren't all the same size, and the humidity of the day will affect how much of the liquid mixture the flour will need. Cut in the liquid a bit at a time, be patient, and when the dough comes together, just stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This is a great crust-its the same receipe as on the back of Crisco in Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is a great pie crust! I've been using it for about 20 years! I do use 5 Tablespoons of ICE water though, but that's the only difference. I typically get 3+ crusts from it. Flakey and delicious! My dh says it IS as good or better than his mothers! Can't have a better compliment than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very flaky. You really need to use a chain inside the shell to keep it from puffing up so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I had this recipe a while ago and my dad just loved it with apple pie. It's a hardy crust. Flaky, but not as tender as other crusts. Still, it's a nice crust for heartier fillings like chicken pot pie. Who says you can't have more than one crust recipe? I have one for sweet fillings, another for traditional pies, another for tarts, and yes, this one is for my chicken pot pies! It is a little wet if you add all the liquid. I refrigerated it before rolling to stiffen it and let it rest for a more flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have ruined every single pie crust I have ever tried to make...except this one! ELEVEN YEARS of miserable failures that had become a family joke are ended! WOOHOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
That's a keeper! I tried the recipe yesterday and I was very pleased. I didn't have shortening on hand and used 1 cup frozen butter instead of 1 1/4 C. shortening, but that was the only change I made. I has a nice buttery flavor and flaky consistency. I cut the frozen butter into chunks and used the food processor. Then I split the dough and chilled it for 3 hours. It was easy and velvety smooth to roll out. I did not prebake it and I will definetly use it again. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I have never been a pie baker until now! Thank you so much for such a great recipe! My kids eat the whole pie now because of the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This is the easiest and most wonderfully flaky crust recipe! If you don't have tome to refrigerate it, put it in the freezer for a small amount of time. It works fine that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States