Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This pie crust recipe did not work out for me as I hoped. It was very soft. I used plenty of flour on the counter & on my roller, but it kept sticking to my rolling pin & the counter when I was ready to lift it off. The dough cracked along the edges when I rolled it out, and fell apart when I went to lift it / scrape it off the counter. It tasted ok though & did bake to a nice golden brown. Sorry, I will look for another recipe for that perfect pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Great recipe! I love not having to refrigerate the dough before rolling- saves so much time. Great taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Excellent pie crust, I'm glad Grandma did not keep it a secret!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I have always had problems in the past with my pie crusts being too tough so consequently I have bought many Pillsbury pie crusts. There is no need for that anymore. My crust turned out flaky and light. I even had a little extra to roll out and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on it and bake as usual. My children loved this. I made the crust with the Blueberry pie recipe from Beth from this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I found the dough was dry and needed 2 tbsps.extra cold water. I chilled the dough for an hour and it rolled easily. However, the crust was a little tough. It is a good recipe, however I am still looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
The best success I have had at making pie crust. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This is the first time that I have ever made a pie crust and it turned out like I have been making pies for years and am an expert at it. The only thing I did differently was to chill it for 20 minutes before I rolled it out. Other then that I followed the recipe to the tee. Thank you, my husband was so excited that I was actually able to make him a pie that tasted as good as his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This pie crust is the most difficult that I have ever worked with. The dough needs to be chilled, and lots more water is needed. In my opinion, the crust is too thin for two pie crust...try just one. I will never try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is the best pie crust ever! I've been experimenting with several pie crust recipes lately, and this is absolutely the best. SUPER flaky, very tasty. The egg adds a richness that is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGSTACY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Excellent Pie Crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States