Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Best tasting pie crust that I've ever made. It looked like an inept 2nd grader rolled it out, but that was my problem..not the recipe! Definitely refrigerate before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was my first pie crust ever, so some of this is probably my fault. I had a few issues with rolling it out/sticking, and then it broke apart on me a bit. I managed to tack on some dough-bandages. The taste was a bit too much like shortening, so next time I may use 1/2 butter and shortening, or all butter. Over all, I would recommend this for us poor novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and it usually comes out. I will be the first to say that pie crust is an art. Still don't feel confident about my skills with it but this recipe is pretty good at helping that. Used to make a berry pie and shepards pie before-all good. Would not call this the perfect crust recipe-but it is the one I have used several times-still keeping my eye out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I tossed out all my other basic pie crust recipes! This one is perfect everytime! I put only small portions of the liquid mix into the pastry mix at a time, stopping when it is the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Just one word! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was my first pie crust ever so I was a little apprehensive, but it was SO easy and really flaky and tasty. Even my expert-baker mother-in-law highly approved. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a great pie crust recipe. I ended up using butter flavored Crisco, which definitely added a nice buttery flavor to it. I also reduced the vinegar to 2 tsps and then added 1 tsp. of vanilla. The most important thing, when you make this crust, is to try and sift the flour first to avoid having to add more liquid (water) later on. Otherwise, the flour will get too dense and the dough will be hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The pastry came out nice and flaky. I prefer to add the liquid a little at a time so I mixed in the egg and vinegar before adding the water. I thought it had enough liquid and didn't add any water, I should have as it didn't roll out very well. I will make it again because I liked the texture and flavor. This is also the same recipe as No Fail pie crust I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I have many recipes in my folder, but this is the only pie crust I use. For me a pie crust is just something to keep the pie together but to my wife the pie crust is essential. I use this pie crust with every pie I make, Lemon Meringue, Sweet Potato, Pumpkin, and Grandma Ople's Apple Pie recipe. I change nothing in the recipe, except that I may adjust the flour or liquid to get it to where it's workable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaBigCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is the first time I made my own pie crust and it turned out perfect. Thanks Grandma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States