Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
WOW!! What can I say. This dressing was wonderful. Very light and refreshing. Its alot like a Catalina. I had my hubby try it before I told him there was ketchup in it. He loved it. The ketchup is surprisingly nice in this dressing. I will definately make this again, and a larger amount of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Ooooh-la-la! Just made this "on the fly" for a dinner and got rave reviews! This is a nice "bright" dressing that has a sweet-sour nuance to it. I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
great salad dressing.i left out the onion.but it still turned out great.reminds me alot of a dressing that was served at a restaurant i use to eat at when i was growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
My grandma used to have two dressing recipes taped inside her cupboard, one for white and one for red. I have been looking for this one, it is perfect! Sweet and Tart, with a gentle zip to it. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ruby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This is a great salad dressing. Because of the sugar, it is sweet, but not too sweet. My family enjoys it, and everyone I serve it to enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Wow! This is soooo good. We've stopped buying Catalina and French dressing and use this recipe all the time. I add 3 garlic cloves to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
my 16 year old daughter doesnt use salad dressing because they have so much oil. I made this dressing and she LOVES it. when i told her how much oil was in it she said she didnt care...its worth it. A big hit in our house! Im going to marinade chicken in it someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Absolutely Delicious! I did change the method of preparation, and added about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I put all of the ingredients except the oil into a blender. Pulsed several times to incorporate. I then blended on high speed, and slowly added the vegetable oil in order to completely emulsify so that the oil wouldn't separate upon sitting in the frig., and poured the mixture into a quart mason jar, covered, and sealed. I am looking forward to my LARGE salad this evening with this wonderful, tasty, dressing. THANKS Mary Ann for sharing this with all of us--reminds me of the dressing I ate as a child some 65 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This dressing is very yummy and tangy, although I was a bit surprised at how much sugar it calls for. Very simple to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
wow gooooooooood! i didn't have white wine vin. so used red only had 1 spoon worch. so used 1 soya also added garlic. spectacular results with the food processer thanking you sheila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States