Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This dressing is very yummy and tangy, although I was a bit surprised at how much sugar it calls for. Very simple to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
It does taste like my grandma's dressing, but I didn't really like it all that much when Grandma made it either. It's very sweet and the ketchup is rather strong. It reminds me a lot of those French-Catalina dressings that were all the rage at church potlucks in the seventies. I don't want to rate it too low, because *you* may really like that sort of thing. Only a bozo (like me) wouldn't expect sweet with that much sugar in the recipe! If sweet orange-hued french dressing floats your boat, you may love this. It just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I think this had a bit too much ketchup. I threw most of it out. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Absolutely Delicious! I did change the method of preparation, and added about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I put all of the ingredients except the oil into a blender. Pulsed several times to incorporate. I then blended on high speed, and slowly added the vegetable oil in order to completely emulsify so that the oil wouldn't separate upon sitting in the frig., and poured the mixture into a quart mason jar, covered, and sealed. I am looking forward to my LARGE salad this evening with this wonderful, tasty, dressing. THANKS Mary Ann for sharing this with all of us--reminds me of the dressing I ate as a child some 65 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
my 16 year old daughter doesnt use salad dressing because they have so much oil. I made this dressing and she LOVES it. when i told her how much oil was in it she said she didnt care...its worth it. A big hit in our house! Im going to marinade chicken in it someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Wow! This is soooo good. We've stopped buying Catalina and French dressing and use this recipe all the time. I add 3 garlic cloves to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This is a great salad dressing. Because of the sugar, it is sweet, but not too sweet. My family enjoys it, and everyone I serve it to enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
WOW!! What can I say. This dressing was wonderful. Very light and refreshing. Its alot like a Catalina. I had my hubby try it before I told him there was ketchup in it. He loved it. The ketchup is surprisingly nice in this dressing. I will definately make this again, and a larger amount of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Ooooh-la-la! Just made this "on the fly" for a dinner and got rave reviews! This is a nice "bright" dressing that has a sweet-sour nuance to it. I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
My grandma used to have two dressing recipes taped inside her cupboard, one for white and one for red. I have been looking for this one, it is perfect! Sweet and Tart, with a gentle zip to it. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States