Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Good dressing IF you greatly reduce the sugar quantity. It's seriously sweet otherwise. I wholeheartedly recommend you start with only 1/4 of the quantity called for and increase the amount of sugar gradually. I don't think you will go any further than half the amount called for. It's pretty, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This was a BIG hit at a baby shower hosted by my daughter. I was asked for the recipe by several people! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Next time I will cut the sugar (it's too sweet) and puree the onion first. I used red wine vinegar, not white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I halved the amount of sugar, oil and onion. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My friend introduced me to this recipe when she made it for a spinach salad, which was a nice change from the traditional bacon dressing. I made a few changes and served over my grilled sirloin steak salad. It was delicious!I used liquid Stevia,less vinegar and I added a bit of horseradish (Otts) for more zip for the beef. This is a great dressing to add to my collection, as we do not purchase bottled dressing any longer due to our families diligence to weed out sugar and chemicals that are harmful to our bodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have been looking for a great salad dressing recipe for some time. This is it! We just love it. I did not have regular white wine vinegar in my pantry, so I used champagne white wine vinegar and red onions. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used apple cider vinegar instead and olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I used only half of a onion. So delicious ..will never buy store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I was looking for a "Catalina" type dressing to use for a taco salad. This recipe looked the best to me so I gave it a try. I used much less sugar, probably about a quarter of the recipe amount. That ended up being plenty sweet for my taste. It was very good for the use I wanted, but I probably wouldn't enjoy this as a dressing for a green salad. Just my preference. All-in-all I'm happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious! I used this on frito bean salad and it tasted better than the Catalina dressing I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States