Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The recipe is great up until you reach the meringue section. It is unclear how much sugar to use and it fails to mention that you must use a glass or metal bowl. I have never made a meringue before and was mixing and mixing the eggs with a lack luster result. I ended up using a separate recipes for the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
excellent recipe. we have here rhubarb season, and wanted to try something new and this was the right choice. everybody loved it and i have already shared this recip with few my friends. i am baking it again! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baibaip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My sister-in-law has an awesome tort recipe, but she wasn't home for me to get it, so found this one. It is just as good as my sister-in-laws, if not better. Shhhh don't tell her. This was very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was not that great the night that I made it, when it was still warm. I was worried that I would just end up throwing out a huge pan full of dessert. Fortunately this morning I pulled it out of the fridge (where I stored it wrapped in plastic wrap_not foil) and it was delicious! The meringue really held up and the fruit was soft and sweet instead of slightly crunchy. Even the crust tasted bettter! I highly recommend making this and leaving PLENTY of time to chill in the fridge and let everything mesh, possibly even the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was very good, and a bit different. A great way to use up an abundance of rhubarb. Shared w/ in-laws and they loved it. Leftovers were a nice treat the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I don't know what I did but it didn't come out cake-like at all. It was like a rhubarb pie and was soft like a fruit pie filling. I even baked it longer because it didn't "set". I'm afraid to cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I REALLY liked this, and so did everyone else. My only complaint was that I didn't have quite as much rhubarb as the recipe called for, so it wasn't as rhubarby as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was my first rhubarb recipe, and it was pretty good! However, I didn't like the topping, and instead would suggest using whipped cream. The pie itself was definitely good, though. For a more traditional pie taste for those who may have never had rhubarb before, add a little more sugar to the recipe and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Loved it, great hit. Shouldn't have cut back on topping or crust, despite having less rhubarb than called for (still used 9x13 pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States