Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My mom used to make this all the time. Everyone would always ask for the recipe! She also uses Splenda when preparing for some of our diabetic relatives and it turns out great. I'm going to have to plant rhubarb this year, just so I can make this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Exactly like an old family recipe that had been lost! Wonderful and easy to make. It was even great the following day, I did not have a soggy crust. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was awesome! I made it for my Mom and Dad's birthday party and everyone loved it! I replaced the flour with cornstarch. That was the only change I made. Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Wonderful recipe, and very delicious. EVERYONE loved it, even those who don't like rhubarb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I was looking for a different recipe for rhubarb. I can't seem to make any kind of "crisp" whatsoever. I thought I would try this. My husband, who is VERY picky, said it was "alright" and the next morning half the pan was gone. I think he liked it. I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I used regular. It still turned out great, but I will use the evaporated next time just to see what the difference is. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGBOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I have made this recipe many times and always receive high praise for it. I have substituted sour cream for the milk, it was wonderful, made it even more interesting and richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This recipe was alot of work for a college student but it was worth it! I substituted skim milk for evaporated milk and it was fine, even though it was probably a bit more moist than the original recipe. The meringue tasted great even though it was weeping by the time i was able to eat it. Overall it was a wonderful recipe to use up the rhubarb mom brought from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is really wonderful...I didn't change the ingredients at all. However, I didn't let the crust cool before topping with the filling mixture (just put it on right after taking crust out of the oven & popped it back in the oven); and, although the recipe doesn't specify, you should always put a meringue on top of the filling when it's hot and spread it til it touches the sides of the pan to prevent it from "shrinking" while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I made this to take to a large dinner. It got rave reviews. The only thing I did different was to subsitute Splenda for the sugar. I used about 1/2 of the recommended amount and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
OH MY!! I LOVE this recipe! I even liked it the second day better! It definitely makes an overflowing batch for lots of people. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States