Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is really wonderful...I didn't change the ingredients at all. However, I didn't let the crust cool before topping with the filling mixture (just put it on right after taking crust out of the oven & popped it back in the oven); and, although the recipe doesn't specify, you should always put a meringue on top of the filling when it's hot and spread it til it touches the sides of the pan to prevent it from "shrinking" while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Excellent dessert!! I spent the day at my mothers house on Friday helping her bake. (My brothers new girlfriend was flying in and staying for a few days!) Mom has loads of frozen rhubarb in her freezer from last summer that needs to be used up so I thought I'd put a dent in it with this recipe. Wow, was it ever a hit...even with non rhubarb lovers!! One thing I would suggest though concerns the method of making the "custard". Instead of mixing the egg yolks with the flour, mix them first with the sugar, than the milk, than beat in the flour. If you mix the ingredients in the order described in the method you will end up with hard little pieces of egg/flour, making your custard mixture grainy.Just thought I'd offer a hint!! To all of you who have a rhubarb patch and are always on the hunt for new rhubarb recipes...you've just gotta try this one!!! Thanks a bunch Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This was very good (I agree with the other reviewer about the order of mixing). I ground two tablespoons of flax seeds in my coffee grinder and added them to the crust mixture for a wonderful nutty flavour (and a bit of added fiber..sneaky nutrition). Other than that, I made no other tweaks. The custard was firm enough to slice but velvety soft in the mouth. The meringue was a nice touch and looked very pretty (make sure filling is hot when you spread on egg white mixture..helps avoid making custard wet). And the preparation in a 9x13 dish served a lot of people with little trouble. Best the day it is made (crust got a bit soggy overnight). I will definitely make again when I need a dessert for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I made this to take to a large dinner. It got rave reviews. The only thing I did different was to subsitute Splenda for the sugar. I used about 1/2 of the recommended amount and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Although this might be a good recipe to some, we didn't care for it. It was much, much to sweet. We didn't eat the whole thing. I like the idea of the tort so I'm going to try again and use less sugar, maybe add strawberries too. I'm not giving up on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
After offering to make a dessert for a dinner party last week, I had tons of rhubarb in the garden so I chose this one. I can't tell you all the mishaps I had making this. First I didn't realize how much 8 cups of rhubarb was so I had to keep sending my son up and down the garden to get more. Then, I have a fan assisted oven and thought I overbaked it at every stage. I honestly wasn't going to bring it. To top it all off it fell over in the car on the way there. I begged my sis in law not to serve it until someone brave tasted it, but there it was on the dessert table next to all the fancy tarts and chocolates. Do you know everyone was bugging me for the recipe?! I think any dessert that can take that much abuse and still taste so good deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I collect Rhubarb recepies and this is one of the very best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was awesome! I made it for my Mom and Dad's birthday party and everyone loved it! I replaced the flour with cornstarch. That was the only change I made. Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Excellent Recipe. I left out the Meringue and instead added a brown sugar oatmeal crisp topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States