Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
My motherlaw use to make this . I had lost her recipe.This one is a winner ,tastes similar to what she made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
An absolute delight!!! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
Us "rhubarb lovers" around here loved this. I printed this one off for next rhubarb season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This was a great recipe , not too sweet even though the merengue was dense, didnt fade. thank you for this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I collect Rhubarb recepies and this is one of the very best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Although this might be a good recipe to some, we didn't care for it. It was much, much to sweet. We didn't eat the whole thing. I like the idea of the tort so I'm going to try again and use less sugar, maybe add strawberries too. I'm not giving up on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This is very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Excellent dessert!! I spent the day at my mothers house on Friday helping her bake. (My brothers new girlfriend was flying in and staying for a few days!) Mom has loads of frozen rhubarb in her freezer from last summer that needs to be used up so I thought I'd put a dent in it with this recipe. Wow, was it ever a hit...even with non rhubarb lovers!! One thing I would suggest though concerns the method of making the "custard". Instead of mixing the egg yolks with the flour, mix them first with the sugar, than the milk, than beat in the flour. If you mix the ingredients in the order described in the method you will end up with hard little pieces of egg/flour, making your custard mixture grainy.Just thought I'd offer a hint!! To all of you who have a rhubarb patch and are always on the hunt for new rhubarb recipes...you've just gotta try this one!!! Thanks a bunch Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This was very good (I agree with the other reviewer about the order of mixing). I ground two tablespoons of flax seeds in my coffee grinder and added them to the crust mixture for a wonderful nutty flavour (and a bit of added fiber..sneaky nutrition). Other than that, I made no other tweaks. The custard was firm enough to slice but velvety soft in the mouth. The meringue was a nice touch and looked very pretty (make sure filling is hot when you spread on egg white mixture..helps avoid making custard wet). And the preparation in a 9x13 dish served a lot of people with little trouble. Best the day it is made (crust got a bit soggy overnight). I will definitely make again when I need a dessert for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Exactly like an old family recipe that had been lost! Wonderful and easy to make. It was even great the following day, I did not have a soggy crust. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States