Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My brother in law loved this torte. We printed out the recipe because it called for 8 cups of rhubarb. It was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wittenberg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Taylor
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Quite delicious - however, I didn't have enough rhubarb in my garden so I substituted some strawberries (2 parts rhubarb, 1 part strawberry). I love straw and rhubarb, and I found it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
My family are big rhubarb crisp fans but this recipe was a nice alternative. I wasn't sure about the meringue on top but it complimented the rhubarb mixture nicely. It was my first time making meringue - it took longer to form stiff peeks than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
this gets a 4 star rating because the quanties are simply too large for a 9x13 pan. next time I make this I will use only 4 eggs and cut down the milk used to 2/3 cup.otherwise it is a very tasty dessert. (or use a larger pan, like a lasagna pan for example.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very nice alternative to the classic rhubarb custard pie. I did need to cook the torte for an additional 20 minutes. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My mom used to make this all the time. Everyone would always ask for the recipe! She also uses Splenda when preparing for some of our diabetic relatives and it turns out great. I'm going to have to plant rhubarb this year, just so I can make this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
OH MY!! I LOVE this recipe! I even liked it the second day better! It definitely makes an overflowing batch for lots of people. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I made this to take to a large dinner. It got rave reviews. The only thing I did different was to subsitute Splenda for the sugar. I used about 1/2 of the recommended amount and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is really wonderful...I didn't change the ingredients at all. However, I didn't let the crust cool before topping with the filling mixture (just put it on right after taking crust out of the oven & popped it back in the oven); and, although the recipe doesn't specify, you should always put a meringue on top of the filling when it's hot and spread it til it touches the sides of the pan to prevent it from "shrinking" while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This recipe was alot of work for a college student but it was worth it! I substituted skim milk for evaporated milk and it was fine, even though it was probably a bit more moist than the original recipe. The meringue tasted great even though it was weeping by the time i was able to eat it. Overall it was a wonderful recipe to use up the rhubarb mom brought from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States