Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Excellent Recipe. I left out the Meringue and instead added a brown sugar oatmeal crisp topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. I wasn't sure about the meringue, but the whole combination of crust, custard and meringue is perfect. I added strawberries and it was delicious. Will definitely use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
My grandmother made this dish and I always loved it. My favorite way to have rhubarb. I was very easily able to cut this in half and fit it into a pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I cut the sugar as suggested by another reviewer. I only added 2 1/2 cups. Other was too sweet, this is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Made this last evening with the overabundant rhubarb pick from the garden....great because it uses 8 cups of rhubarb. It was rich & superb. I would cut back the sugar next time thoug as it was very sweet...or maybe try some Splenda with the sugar. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERLOU1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
After offering to make a dessert for a dinner party last week, I had tons of rhubarb in the garden so I chose this one. I can't tell you all the mishaps I had making this. First I didn't realize how much 8 cups of rhubarb was so I had to keep sending my son up and down the garden to get more. Then, I have a fan assisted oven and thought I overbaked it at every stage. I honestly wasn't going to bring it. To top it all off it fell over in the car on the way there. I begged my sis in law not to serve it until someone brave tasted it, but there it was on the dessert table next to all the fancy tarts and chocolates. Do you know everyone was bugging me for the recipe?! I think any dessert that can take that much abuse and still taste so good deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
The recipe was good, but not exceptional. I gave it 4 stars probably because I don't care for meringue much. I'd give it 3 days max for storage as it gets kind of slimey (yes, I refrigerated it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Great rhubarb recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Delicious! I used Splenda because my diabetic mom was coming for dinner, and did 1/3 strawberries / 2/3 rhubarb. Will use real sugar next time - I just can't get over that slight Splenda aftertaste. Can't wait to make this with real sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States