Grandma's Raspberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very dry and seemed like it needed way more jam. It became ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LolaMama
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Easy and delicious! I added 1/2 cup of the oatmeal to the butter/sugar/flour mixture. It weighed 617 gm, so I pressed all but 200 gm into the bottom of the pan. Then I added almost 1 cup of the oatmeal to the 200 gm and pressed it over the raspberry layer. Next time I think I'll use a full cup of jam. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. I think I will make a few changes next time I make it, though. I hope that some of the mistakes I made were simply from elevation difference (in Denver) so I will adjust the temperature and time. There was also quite a bit of crumble for me as well and I think I used too many oats. Excellent recipe otherwise--I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great bars! Made them for church and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These are awesome! I had a similar recipe, and it called for 1/4 cup sliced almonds. I found that adding 1/2 tsp. almond extract to the mixture made it really special. Note that you can use 'quick oats' in the mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was a tasty recipe my only recomendation is once you place the base onto the bottom of the pan, to bake in a preheated oven about 5-7min or just before the crust starts to completely brown. it helps the crust set up better and easier to take out of the pan for cutting. I used preserves since I had no jam on hand.. the bars were still tasty but gooey and didn't set as nicely. I added about 1/4 cup o add'l walnuts for added flavor. great recipe i'll do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hasani21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this is now my go-to recipe for bars. i've used leftover jam, my sister's homemade apple butter, my leftover thanksgiving cranberry sauce... if you have a sauce or spread, you can sandwich it into this recipe and be totally happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spadooky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Taste was good, but I agree with the other reviewers that there was too much crumble. Perhaps reducing the amount of oats would help, as 1 1/2 cups seems way too much for the amount of dough you save for the topping. You couldn't eat these like a bar because the crumble all fell off. Also, they seemed too thin, and I will try it with a 9x9 pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought these looked awesome when they came out. I was so excited! Sadly, they weren't very popular and only a couple were eaten. There was just something missing from the recipe. Not sure, but I wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
These are delicious and so pretty! I have to give it four stars only because I found that there was too much topping in the recipe as written; I sprinkled the topping over the raspberry preserves until I covered but still had about 1/4 cup of topping left over. The flavor, however, is so nice and the bars are chewy (which is just as I like them to be). Thank you for sharing Stacey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States