Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This dish is fabulous! If you like pork chops, and LOVE mushrooms, you will not be disappointed. I made this for my parents last night. Needless to say, I got back empty plates with nothing but the bones. LOL I did alter the recipe a bit. Since it called for six (6) pork chops - I ended up buying six (6) 2" thick pork chops. They were huge. But I have a Dutch Oven so they fit in there nicely. I also used a 14 oz. can of beef broth (instead of the listed 10.5 oz can) and at my local grocery store, instead of buying an 8 oz. can of mushrooms, which to me, wasn't many at all, I bought two (2) huge containers of sliced white mushrooms. I mean if you love mushrooms, you can't go wrong with adding as many as you desire. The flavor of the gravy was to die for. I will certainly be making this again! P.S. - If you've never bought dry sherry before and want to know where to get it; liquor store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I purchased two large, thick bone in Pork Chops. I followed the recipe as written except for using fresh mushrooms, 2 cloves of garlic and Tapioca Flour to make it gluten free and a few sprigs of fresh thyme. Only had to bake them for 25 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered. We don't like our meat over-cooked, so I used a thermometer. Pork was tender and moist. Let the pork rest, while I made the gravy. I did use a good drinking sherry, which I believe makes all the difference. I cooked it all in one dutch oven. I set the pork chops on a plate while I sautéed the mushrooms and deglazed the pan, then added them back to the pan. Gravy was wonderful! Will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I'm not a huge fan of pork chops, but my husband is. He really liked this recipe. Pork chops were very tender and had alot of flavor. Simple meal and not too much to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I said I musta done something wrong the first time I made these.....nope! I made them again and doctored them up as some on here have done, they're still just OK. They have very little flavor..or a lot of Sherry taste.Outta my recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This one is a keeper. The family loved it. I did add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent! Cut the sherry down to 1/2 cup, and added more beef broth to compensate. Used fresh baby portobellos. Ran out of cornstarch so used flour to thicken gravy. Didn't change anything else. Will definitely cook this one again. Served w/spinach and mashed sweet potato w/diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My family loved this version-no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Way to much sherry. Was more like a wine reduction than a gravy. I planned to serve with mash potatoes and we had to eat the potatoes plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Yuck! This took a lot of time, and I ended up with a big mess of dishes to clean up. The chops were tough, and had no flavor. Since I substituted apple juice for sherry, the gravy was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Didn't have sherry to use but just increased the beef broth and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States