Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Terrific quick recipe and a great alternative to "the can". I did take some liberties with the cooking method and a few ingredient tweaks since I was using super thin cut pork chops. I used Montreal on the chops so skipped added garlic to the pan and browned in a mix of butter and shallot infused oil. I removed chops and added mushrooms and onion to the pan, sauted until soft, then added a can of french onion soup, sherry, cold butter, and a slurry of sherry/flour to thicken. Lots of nice cracked black pepper and a few shakes of dried bouquet garni, too. Added the pork chops back into the sauce and let them gently simmer for a half hour or so on the stove. Just delicious. Great base, glad I found your recipe & thanks for sharing with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe two weeks ago and it was delicious and I am making it again tonight. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was very good and I made the recipe as written. My pork chops were very overdone and dry regardless of the gravy. This is why I only gave it a 3 instead of a 4. I will make it again, but will cook the 'broth' in the oven a little while before I add the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is just how Pork chops in Mushroom gravy should taste. LOVE it!!! Added a little Cayenne pepper for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Justin Stubblefield
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Okay, I did alter this recipe slightly. Some reviews said it was bland, so i seasoned my chops and gravy with pepper, garlic powder (omitted fresh garlic cuz I'm lazy like that), and onion powder. I also seasoned the chops with salt but didn't add any to the gravy bc the broth is full of salt. I also used fresh mushrooms bc canned shrooms are flavorless and pointless imo. With the alterations, it came out perfect. Will be making time and time again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This dish is fabulous! If you like pork chops, and LOVE mushrooms, you will not be disappointed. I made this for my parents last night. Needless to say, I got back empty plates with nothing but the bones. LOL I did alter the recipe a bit. Since it called for six (6) pork chops - I ended up buying six (6) 2" thick pork chops. They were huge. But I have a Dutch Oven so they fit in there nicely. I also used a 14 oz. can of beef broth (instead of the listed 10.5 oz can) and at my local grocery store, instead of buying an 8 oz. can of mushrooms, which to me, wasn't many at all, I bought two (2) huge containers of sliced white mushrooms. I mean if you love mushrooms, you can't go wrong with adding as many as you desire. The flavor of the gravy was to die for. I will certainly be making this again! P.S. - If you've never bought dry sherry before and want to know where to get it; liquor store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I purchased two large, thick bone in Pork Chops. I followed the recipe as written except for using fresh mushrooms, 2 cloves of garlic and Tapioca Flour to make it gluten free and a few sprigs of fresh thyme. Only had to bake them for 25 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered. We don't like our meat over-cooked, so I used a thermometer. Pork was tender and moist. Let the pork rest, while I made the gravy. I did use a good drinking sherry, which I believe makes all the difference. I cooked it all in one dutch oven. I set the pork chops on a plate while I sautéed the mushrooms and deglazed the pan, then added them back to the pan. Gravy was wonderful! Will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I'm not a huge fan of pork chops, but my husband is. He really liked this recipe. Pork chops were very tender and had alot of flavor. Simple meal and not too much to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I said I musta done something wrong the first time I made these.....nope! I made them again and doctored them up as some on here have done, they're still just OK. They have very little flavor..or a lot of Sherry taste.Outta my recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This one is a keeper. The family loved it. I did add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States