Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I did not have sherry on hand, so I substituted it with apple juice. The chops were very tender and tasty. Definitly worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I didn't have canned mushrooms so I used 1 8 oz package of presliced mushrooms. I didn't have beef broth either so I used 2 cups hot water and a knorr beef bouillon cube. It turned out so good my bf ate 3 and his friend had 2. I only got 1. It makes alot of gravy so I made mashed potatoes with it. All you need is a vegi. Gravy was so good my bf ate his peas with the gravy on it (he does not like peas). I can't say enough about this dish it was so good. Thank you for sharing a wonderful dish that I will make to get those ohhhs and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I used 4 lard field mushroom in this as I didnt have the other. Definately a keeper..well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Yummy, pork chops are very tender and gravy is very flavorful over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Does your Grandma have anymore recipes like this one!!! Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
We buy pork chops in bulk and I'm always looking for a good way to cook them. This recipe was delicious. I didn't have sherry or beef broth on hand so I substituted apple juice and chicken broth. It turned out fabulous. Also to make it more of a meal, I added broccoli to the gravy. I served it all on a bed of rice. We'll be using this one again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was wonderful. I was concerned about the amount of sherry, but it gave the gravy a very good flavor. I also served mashed potatoes to take advantage of all the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This is recipe is delicious! My husband was so impressed. The gravy is unbelievable and the pork chops you cut with a fork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Great recipe--especially since it is not canned soup based. This sauce is also good with chicken breast and artichokes (use all the sherry). You may substitute a veggie stock for beef. Thanks Heidi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Very good recipe. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, sauteing them slightly before adding the sherry & beef broth, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States