Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Also used a flour base instead of cornstarch. Apple Juice instead of Sherry. The cooking time in the oven is too much. My pork ended up a bit dry, even though it was cooked in the juices. I will definately try this recipe again. The gravy is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaskGirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I cooked this exactly as the recipe called for, and it was fantastic. The only thing I would experiment with is using fresh mushrooms instead of canned to cut down the sodium, and adding some onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It turned out awesome, my husband loved this . I used Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup and a little water instead of the beef broth and also added the onion. I also used real Sherry Wine and it turned out most excellent. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I thought it was a bit salty but still good! My husband thought it was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Just ok, I did add onions and used white wine instead of sherry. If it wasn't for the pepper I added, it seemed bland to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Simple and delicious. My hubs loves smothered pork chops and this was a hit here. I used low sodium SeasonAll and canned mushrooms and thick boneless pork loin chops that were butterflied. I didn't have sherry so I just used more beef broth in it's place. My sauce really didn't thicken much but it still turned out a fabulous man pleasing dish. Thanks for Grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I just made this and it was DELICIOUS!! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I didn't have any beef broth, but substituted chicken bouillon with 2 cups water. I also didn't have any sherry, so I used white cooking wine instead. Sooo yummy!! ALSO, only cooked in oven 15 min. covered and 15 min. uncovered...30 min. total. I seved with mashed potatoes and green beans. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
No canned soups places this recipe way up there in ratings, but no canned mushrooms would rate it even higher. I suggest fresh mushrooms, and this will be a smashing success. Got my pork chops in the skillet already, and I won't even bother with the oven . . . finish the chops in the skillet, remove & keep them warm while you make the sauce in the skillet. Tender juicy chops & incredibly tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by We B Hermits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I did bread my chops with some Italian bread crumbs. I used one cast iron skillet, just removed the chops to a plate while deglazing and making the broth. I then put my chops back into the skillet and baked. The reason for four stars is the time is too long, my chops were well done in 45 minutes and they were pretty thick. I'd make again with fresh mushrooms. The gravy was good, I did use low sodium beef broth. Very good with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States