Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty. Overdosed on stock, because I had a quart of beef stock canned a while back, and because I had more pork chops to cook than good sense. So instead of water I just added the juices to the cornstarch at the end. Made great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob McMillin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
If it's made to the letter, the chops come out way over done, 1 T of butter is not enough fat to cook even two pork chops, and the garlic gets burnt and bitter tasting. I cooked over medium heat to try to avoid this, but even on medium heat the garlic ends up burned. I recommend using 2T of olive oil to brown the chops, and adding the 1 T of butter and garlic AFTER the chops are out of the pan. Slightly brown the garlic and deglaze with the sherry/wine. I also agree that 1 cup was way too much wine. I used 1/2 that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Amazingly delicious with a couple changes: Browned pork chops on medium-high heat for probably less than 2 minutes on each side and got great caramelization Used fresh mushroom slices Used red wine and chicken broth to deglaze the pan to make sauce Baked for about 30 minutes (any longer is really unnecessary) and used a meat thermometer Added a pat of butter and flour to thicken sauce They were very flavorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My regards to Grandma -- this was fantastic! The gravy was a real hit. This is definitely going on my regular menu rotation. Thanks so much for sharing your family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this as the recipe states and it was very delicious. My husband and I loved it. It had a lot of tasty gravy. Will definitely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Awesome! very easy to throw together on a busy or lazy night! Served with mashed potatoes, canned peas and carrot sticks! Yummy! It turned out very tender, I put in the oven for only maybe 15 mins..... Thanks for the recipe! Oh ya, and it was seasoned with La Grill chicken spice.....before browned in the skillet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
The gravy is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Great comfort food. I thank your Grandmother!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssenior

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Super yummy & tender. I use my dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States