Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I've made the recipe once and it's the one request I keep getting since! The mushroom gravy tastes great on baked potatoes too (going to try it on a veggie burger for my hubby tonight). The only thing I would add is some sauted onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was extremely bland as is. I instead used fresh mushrooms (who uses canned mushrooms anyway?), some hot peppers, coriander and fennel, and served it with grilled eggplant and rice pasta. Very good if it's changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
The first time I made this the only modification I made was to use fresh mushrooms. As it stands, I would give the original recipe a 3. But with modifications, I think this could easily be a 4 or 5. Here is what I now do. First, I use a dutch oven for the whole thing so there is not bother with two pans. In the dutch oven when the butter is melted, I add about 1/2 minced onion and a couple sprigs of thyme, in addition to the garlic. After browning the pork chops, I add the mushrooms, cooking for a minute or two and then the sherry (the kind you drink, not the cooking kind) to deglaze, cooking on high until it's almost evaporated, about 6 or so minutes. Then I add the beef broth, bring to a new boil, cover and stick in the oven. I only cook for 35 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. DH and I both enjoy this and I tend to think pork chops are just "okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was fantastic...much better than the traditional pork chops/cream of mushroom soup casserole. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
These pork chops were delicious!! They smelled so good when they were cooking, too. Will definately make them again. Next time, I won't even bother with the corn starch and water. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was good. But my family wasn't in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was awesome! My husband loved it very much and so did I. I didnt have dry sherry though so I used 1 tbsp canadian whisky... hehehe >:-) There was a slight kick! I'd definitely make this again.... with the whisky!:p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Most of the people that loved this recipe, modified it. Cooking it exactly as the recipe requests is absolutely awful. There could not be a blander recipe. Maybe I'm spoiled with...let's see...flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I used fresh creminis, more garlic, and thickened the sauce with a roux instead of corn starch. The gravy was great over some red potatoes mashed with garlic. This works as a salisbury steak recipe too, just sub some round or cube steak for the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Excellent! After an hour in the oven, the pork fell off the bone. This time I used cooking sherry which made the gravy a bit too salty, next time I'll use "real" sherry. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used fresh mushrooms which I sauteed in the pan before adding the broth and sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States