Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was awesome! My husband loved it very much and so did I. I didnt have dry sherry though so I used 1 tbsp canadian whisky... hehehe >:-) There was a slight kick! I'd definitely make this again.... with the whisky!:p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Most of the people that loved this recipe, modified it. Cooking it exactly as the recipe requests is absolutely awful. There could not be a blander recipe. Maybe I'm spoiled with...let's see...flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I used fresh creminis, more garlic, and thickened the sauce with a roux instead of corn starch. The gravy was great over some red potatoes mashed with garlic. This works as a salisbury steak recipe too, just sub some round or cube steak for the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Excellent! After an hour in the oven, the pork fell off the bone. This time I used cooking sherry which made the gravy a bit too salty, next time I'll use "real" sherry. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used fresh mushrooms which I sauteed in the pan before adding the broth and sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I made this using boneless pork loin chops so definitely recommend reducing the total cooking time to 20 - 25 minutes. Fresh mushrooms are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
It's everything my husband likes--moist meat with a thick sauce. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
We all really enjoyed this very tasty recipe. The only things I did differently were that I used chicken stock instead of beef broth (didn't have any at home), used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and I didn't make the gravy and just used the remaining juice with the mushrooms as a side. I should have made more pork chops because everybody wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I did the entire thing on stove top. When it was time to add the cornstarch, I pulled the chops out, added the cornstarch/water mix to the thickness I wanted, than added some Classico pesto sauce (to taste - about 2 - 3 T) and then, bleu cheese salad dressing (Maria's - about 1 - 2 T) to give it a little kick. Put the chops back in, warmed everything up and had it over brown rice. Amazing with adding pesto and bleu cheese can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Not bad. Made as written but used fresh mushrooms and served over noodles. Next time I will cut the cooking time down. The pork chops were not as tender as we like. Did like the gravy a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe is simple to make and a real crowd pleaser! I followed the recipe exactly as shown but used fresh mushrooms instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States