Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My husband & I loved this easy recipe. I cooked as directed but added some kitchen bouquet to the gravy. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Made this for my sweet hubby who has a paranoia about anything 'cream of mushroom' based. He enjoyed the flavor although did comment he missed a little creaminess. Cooked a thick bone-in chop for 30 minutes, which was plenty. I thought the texture was a bit tough but hubby said it was just right. A good no-fail recipe for pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beththeangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was a really good recipe! The only ingredient variation I made was fresh mushrooms. The beef broth I used came in a 14.5 oz can, so I used the left over broth in the dutch oven when the chops were 'just browned,' and I went ahead and put them in the oven with the broth.. This way it didn't take quite as long to bake them.. As soon as my mushroom mix was completed, I poured all of it in together.. The meat was VERY tender, and I liked the sherry taste in it.. I rarely cook with wines, so this was a nice change! I served with mashed potatoes, corn and biscuits.. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmsweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Dad and I loved these. Since it was only the 2 of us eating dinner tonight, I only made 4 chops, and I also used fresh mushrooms. I baked them for 45 minutes, and my chops (boneless 1/2 thick) were perfectly tender and not overdone at all. My gravy was a little thin, but that was my fault, cause I didn't get the sherry/beef broth mixture boiling before adding the cornstarch. I served these with homemade mashed potatoes and corn. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Recipe came out great, thanks to my meat thermometer. As mentioned earlier, the cook time for this is too long. I also used flour to thicken instead of corn starch, as I don't like clear gravy. We liked it, and it is now in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Wonderful meal! Did not have beef broth or sherry, used chicken broth and white wine. Paid attention to the fact did not need to bake for 60 minutes. Baked boneless chops for 20 minutes covered and then 10 minutes uncovered. Will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Rather than using the oven, I prepared this on the stove top, simmering the chops for about an hour. They were very tender and moist, however the dish itself was very bland. I might try making this again, using various seasonings to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were great! Serve with homemade mashed potatoes. GOOD stuff!! I would use boneless pork chops with this recipe, otherwise you can get little shards of bone in your gravy. Easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I've made the recipe once and it's the one request I keep getting since! The mushroom gravy tastes great on baked potatoes too (going to try it on a veggie burger for my hubby tonight). The only thing I would add is some sauted onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was extremely bland as is. I instead used fresh mushrooms (who uses canned mushrooms anyway?), some hot peppers, coriander and fennel, and served it with grilled eggplant and rice pasta. Very good if it's changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States