Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Dad and I loved these. Since it was only the 2 of us eating dinner tonight, I only made 4 chops, and I also used fresh mushrooms. I baked them for 45 minutes, and my chops (boneless 1/2 thick) were perfectly tender and not overdone at all. My gravy was a little thin, but that was my fault, cause I didn't get the sherry/beef broth mixture boiling before adding the cornstarch. I served these with homemade mashed potatoes and corn. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Recipe came out great, thanks to my meat thermometer. As mentioned earlier, the cook time for this is too long. I also used flour to thicken instead of corn starch, as I don't like clear gravy. We liked it, and it is now in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Wonderful meal! Did not have beef broth or sherry, used chicken broth and white wine. Paid attention to the fact did not need to bake for 60 minutes. Baked boneless chops for 20 minutes covered and then 10 minutes uncovered. Will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Rather than using the oven, I prepared this on the stove top, simmering the chops for about an hour. They were very tender and moist, however the dish itself was very bland. I might try making this again, using various seasonings to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were great! Serve with homemade mashed potatoes. GOOD stuff!! I would use boneless pork chops with this recipe, otherwise you can get little shards of bone in your gravy. Easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I've made the recipe once and it's the one request I keep getting since! The mushroom gravy tastes great on baked potatoes too (going to try it on a veggie burger for my hubby tonight). The only thing I would add is some sauted onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was extremely bland as is. I instead used fresh mushrooms (who uses canned mushrooms anyway?), some hot peppers, coriander and fennel, and served it with grilled eggplant and rice pasta. Very good if it's changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
The first time I made this the only modification I made was to use fresh mushrooms. As it stands, I would give the original recipe a 3. But with modifications, I think this could easily be a 4 or 5. Here is what I now do. First, I use a dutch oven for the whole thing so there is not bother with two pans. In the dutch oven when the butter is melted, I add about 1/2 minced onion and a couple sprigs of thyme, in addition to the garlic. After browning the pork chops, I add the mushrooms, cooking for a minute or two and then the sherry (the kind you drink, not the cooking kind) to deglaze, cooking on high until it's almost evaporated, about 6 or so minutes. Then I add the beef broth, bring to a new boil, cover and stick in the oven. I only cook for 35 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. DH and I both enjoy this and I tend to think pork chops are just "okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was fantastic...much better than the traditional pork chops/cream of mushroom soup casserole. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
These pork chops were delicious!! They smelled so good when they were cooking, too. Will definately make them again. Next time, I won't even bother with the corn starch and water. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States