Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was my first time ever making perogies, ever! These turned out fabulously! Thank you for sharing it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
The dough was very tasty but I had issues rolling and stuffing them. My dough was breaking as I folded them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made this recipe on Friday, froze the pierogis as suggested and actually only cooked them last night (Tuesday). These are the best I have ever made! My grandmother was from Poland and the recipe is very similar to hers, however, this dough and the steps to make it came out much better. I know that we never had exact measurements and mixing instructions due to the fact that she basically did everything from memory! :) This was the easiest dough to work with. Also, I never knew to freeze the pierogis first before boiling, which I can honestly say, none of them broke when boiling. Afterwards, I sautéed them in butter & onion and ate with sour cream. Excellent! Can't wait to make again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was my first attempt at this recipe. I didn't have the processed cheese sauce and used a yellow potato. These were awesome nevertheless! The dough was especially good with the sour cream. They were labor intensive but what food isn't that is made with love? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Er
Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome! Boiled then fried. Made them with my 10 year old son. We had to "test" them out before making them for the family. Served with homemade marinara. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tayia
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe turned out great! The only thing I would suggest is to make your own cheese sauce if you can otherwise I didn't change a thing! The dough turned out great and was very easy to work with. I would make this again and again, and I definitely plan to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Tasted amazing! The extra ones I layered on a cookie sheet with wax paper between the layers and left in the freezer for a hour then bagged. Next time I make the recipe I will add a little butter and milk to the potato, and a little more spice. The dough is super easy to make. I used a glass I had and they came out the perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These are amazing! My Husband lived in Poland for a couple years and says this recipe is spot on. We use just regular mashed potatoes,freeze them, and after they are boiled we sauté them in butter with chopped onion. We eat all of them every time! We also really like putting raspberry jam and cream cheese in to make some super yummy dessert perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dream Killah
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Changes I made : i fried onions and added them to the potato mixture. I did not add processed cheese. I fried the perogies in butter and added curry powder for flavour. I topped with sour cream, green onion, bacon and turkey bacon. Review: it was an easy recipe to do but time consuming. The entire family helped and everyone was excited all day to finally cook what we prepared yesterday. Changed to make: cook way less potatoe. I only used half what I mashed and as a result they weren't cheesy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I liked the dough because it was easy to roll out and stretched almost like rubber without breaking, but in the end the pierogi tasted much too rich, heavy and fat for me. I guess it's all the sour cream, butter and oil in the recipe. And the next day I fried them in butter to boot. I used sourkraut, mushrooms and onion filling instead of the potatoes and cheese, so I can imagine how much richer they would have been with the additional fat from the cheese and then more sourcream on top when serving like in some recommendations! Great if you live in a cold country and work physically outdoors, but otherwise watch out for your arteries! Or eat one piece per day like I plan to! I made them over three days. I made the filling one day, dough in the morning of the next day, rolled them out and filled them in the afternoon and fried them in butter the third day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States