Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have never made perogies before but I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out wonderfully. They do cook very quickly in the boiling water so watch them closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This dough was very easy to work. Great taste. I use Velvetta cheese and creamed cheese in the potato filling. Assemble these and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet being careful not to touch pierogies together. Freeze then place in zip bags. Melt butter and saute onions in the butter if you like. After boiling pierogies place in butter and onion mixture. Enjoy! I just made 124 of these for Christmas Eve with help from DH. It goes a lot faster if you have help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Has anyone ever tried kapousta, ( I know I didnt spell that right! Lol!) filled pierogis? I was married into a polish family who his father came over on the boat in the 40's. Pierogis where a staple during the holidays. We all went to his house and did the assembly line. Lol! We made potato and ham and kapousta which is polish sauerkraut, leftover pork roast and Worcestershire sauce to taste. These pierogis where straight from the old country and oh so yummy! We would use sour cream to put a drop on top of the potato ones. I've never had ones with cheese in them. I'm thinking that might be a American thing cuz the way I was told was pierogis where away to use up leftovers so things weren't added to them. Kapousta is a polish dish also so that was the way to get rid of those leftovers. Now ill be making pierogis for the holidays and am looking forward to trying potato with cheese. We would make up about 100 then freeze. When we where ready to eat them we fried them till golden brown. Can't imagine eating them just as boiled noodle dough. The browning makes a world of difference! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I decided to try this recipe as I had all ingredients on hand and it looked relatively easy. However, the dough came out way too sticky to work with. I then realized I had no idea where the rolling pin was, so I wound up trying to make flat circles by stretching small pieces by hand and wrapping spoonfuls of filling inside. that didn't really work either - still too sticky. I went ahead and fried some of the frozen ones. They were a little hard to fry with the ball shape, but they were delicious! So all the points are for flavor. I might retry again and hope they come out as gorgeously as they do in the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Abraham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is the same as my dough recipe, but it is essential that the dough be kneaded so you don't end up with a tough dough. If you have a kitchen Aid Mixer with a dough hook on number 2 setting, knead for 10 minutes. It makes all the difference in how easy the dough will roll out and taste. Shredded Cooper Sharp will give them a wonderful flavor. Teddyinlove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shumail
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very nice... Went with 3 eggs and didn't have sour cream so added yogurt. Boiled em up and sautéd then with butter onions and paprika. Served me with mayo and I couldn't keep up. None of them made it to the table...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was the first time I made perogies. I used a gluten free dough but used this recipe for the filling. It is absolutely wonderful! Much better than store bought! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Awesome dough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I added caramelized onions to the filling. Then I fried the perogies in butter with more onions to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavy metal in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It appears that these are a hit even with my picky eater .. the changes that I made are cutting the recipe in half and added a little cream to the potatoes while mashing. Once the perofies were boiled I laid them out on some paper towels to remove the excess water then fried them in a little butter and kept them in the oven to stay warm while browning the rest ( 425 Degrees ) .. I ended up with 30 perogies which I feel is plenty for a family of 4 ( still having some leftovers ) .. Will make again and add a few other touches to the mix .. perhaps some bacon as other have done or chives, garlic, a different kind of cheese, the possibilities are endless .. served with a caprese salad, sliced avocado and black olives on the side thanks for the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States