Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very good spice flavor in this recipe not just plain pear preserves... Compliments from friends and family who I shared this with also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have never made jelly/jam/preserves but I want to try this recipe. How many jars will I need? And what kind of pears?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rebich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was a good starter recipe. This is a recipe that you kinda have to nip and tuck as you go along and watch it cook. I made 2 batches. The first was all syrup and the amount of sugar was frightening. The second batch was a tiny bit less syrupy: I doubled the pectin, used 10 cups of pears, and halved the sugar. The "runny" preserves I ended up with would be great as pancake topping, on ice cream, in steel cut oatmeal, the pear chunks could be strained out and put on toast, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Used this recipe and it turned out great! So happy to have something to do with the last of the pears. I made the recipe exactly as written and got a texture between jam and syrup which is exactly what preserves should be. So versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angy Stimson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I just finish my pear persevere and it tastes great I've been looking for a recipe like this for years.. after reading some of the reviews I reduce my white sugar to 4cups and increase my brown sugar to 1 cup and it's nice and sweet not to mention thick...THANK u 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree with the posters who said there was too much spice. I halved the spice and it's still on the verge of too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this was the best tasting perserve i ever had but it did not set. this is my first time canning and i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly adjusting for the amount of pears I had. I used powdered pectin and this set beautifully. We felt it tasted like our grandmothers made. I am looking forward to putting this on vanilla ice cream this winter. It is now my go to pear recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Did not like this recipe at all. The sugar:pear ratio too much sugar: Too runny: The spices over power the fruit: Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made it twice... Way to sticky sweet and runny. Second time used 1/2 the sugar and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States