Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Used this recipe and it turned out great! So happy to have something to do with the last of the pears. I made the recipe exactly as written and got a texture between jam and syrup which is exactly what preserves should be. So versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angy Stimson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I just finish my pear persevere and it tastes great I've been looking for a recipe like this for years.. after reading some of the reviews I reduce my white sugar to 4cups and increase my brown sugar to 1 cup and it's nice and sweet not to mention thick...THANK u 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree with the posters who said there was too much spice. I halved the spice and it's still on the verge of too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this was the best tasting perserve i ever had but it did not set. this is my first time canning and i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly adjusting for the amount of pears I had. I used powdered pectin and this set beautifully. We felt it tasted like our grandmothers made. I am looking forward to putting this on vanilla ice cream this winter. It is now my go to pear recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Did not like this recipe at all. The sugar:pear ratio too much sugar: Too runny: The spices over power the fruit: Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made it twice... Way to sticky sweet and runny. Second time used 1/2 the sugar and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yes it is syrupy. Icut the sugar to 2 cups and the water down to3/4 cup. Used 8-9 cups of pesrs. Delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I had been looking for an old fashion pear preserve recipe and this was it. I made it today and thought it was perfect. I wanted the taste I remembered as a child and this was it. I grew up in Georgia with home made biscuits and pear preserves and yes they were syrupy and that is just how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This recipe is very tasty! I took the advise from one of the others and while my pears were simmering I mashed them. Other than that I followed the recipe step by step and it turne out great and thick! No runny syrup at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States