Grandma's Orange Milk Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this in my ice cream maker I used cream instead of milk due to some of the reviews I read. It was great before i froze it. I used fresh oranges no zest and added a little orange extract. It did tast just like a creamsicle. After it was frozen though the flavor was not there and the ice cream was crumbly, not creamy at all. If it mealted some it wasn't bad though. (the dog thought it was great). I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
It was too thin so added plain yogurt to thicken it. since the yogurt cut the orange flavor we added a little amount of orange juice to finished product with pin apple. Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I finally made this delicious sounding dessert, and it did not disappoint! I had only reduced fat milk, so subbed one cup with heavy cream. One other change was according to plan: replaced the sugar with liquid vanilla stevia and used a whole 24 oz. can of pineapple and its juice. Fantastic! I ran this in the blender and then poured into icecube trays. The next day, I ran the cubes through the blender again and made a smoothie that reminded me of both Orange Julius or non-alcohol Pina Colada. So I may try making this next time using coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruminantia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was nice and refreshing on a hot summer day. However, it was more of a frozen treat than sherbet to me. I had about a cup of heavy cream to use up so I used that and 2% milk I had on hand for the milk in the recipe. I used my ice cream maker to freeze then put in a container in the freezer. It was rock hard and not smooth and creamy at all out of the freezer - it crumbled. It was best eaten right out of the ice cream maker - kind of like a thick shake. It had good flavor - almost like an orange push-up. I added a bit of grated orange zest for a more orangey flavor and orange food coloring to liven up the color. I like that I had all the ingredients on hand to make this treat on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nomes
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I just made this Sherbet on probably the hottest and most humid day here and it was perfect! although i would have to say it isn't much like sherbet or like that picture at all...it is more of a fruit-slushy kinda' thing. (see the pic i added) nevertheless it got RAVE reviews from my family! (just a note, the serving size here gave 7 people a small/medium bowl of sherbet) Also, scalding the milk isn't necessary, according to online sources. it was done years ago in place of pasturization. so it really isn't a must do kinda' thing. I did it anyway, just for the heck of it though. I think next time i'll use strawberries in place of the pineapple just for fun. Thank you Marilynn! such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
very good tasting, but the sherbet went rock solid in the freezer! I used skim milk, maybe thats why...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Yum! But I had to make several adjustments. First of all, I must let you know, the end result DOES NOT look like the picture (unless you use an ice cream maker). If you simply follow the directions and freeze the mixture, by the time you can actually blend it again, it would have taken on a smoothie consistency. Also, because i didn't have any pineapple, I simply added 2 1/2 cups of orange juice. I did not add sugar because the juice that I used already contained sugar. I used full cream pasteurized milk and did not scald it (you don't need to). It tasted nice, but It was more of a smoothie drink than a sherbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
What sold me on this recipe is it's simple and delicious. You could use just milk, orange juice (fresh or packaged) and sugar to taste, no pineapple. You could use an ice cream maker, pour it into popsicle molds or use the method listed. That's what I like about this recipe. It's adaptable with the same great results, according to how much time you have and what ingredients you prefer. It's the only recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Well I would definately make this again.. Agree it is easy, yummy, and can be made with ingredients that are staples in my kitchen. I followed the recioe as given and used the scalded the milk because I had read that scalding the milk creates smaller ice crystals which ensures creamier ice creme.. ( scald temp 180 degrees.).thankyou for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Scalded milk is a thing of the past - pasturization does the same thing in modern day. You will often see older recipes that require scalded milk, as this one clearly is a good ole' recipe. This sherbet is wonderful, it turned out perfectly in my ice cream maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States