Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kashmir
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The closest thing to The Varsity onion rings. Not as greasy, but just as good. I think it's the vinegar and egg whites that give them the right texture. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These turned out great! It was the first time I had ever made onion rings and they were easy and everyone loved them. I only made a couple of changes. One change I made was to substitute buttermilk for regular milk, and the other change I made was when I forgot to add salt and pepper to the egg mixture. It still had plenty of salt and pepper taste for us. A tip I would offer is to follow the recipe regarding dipping into each mixture twice. Otherwise the crust is thin and they lack presentation quality. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
These onion rings taste just like the onion rings I love from the Varsity in Atlanta. I now use the same batter for cauliflower and other vegetables too...especially on game day. It sneaks veggies into the empire of junk food for the fellas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Chery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good. I only had enough coating for one large onion though, definitely not three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These turned out perfect! My husband and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I sprinkled it with salt and cayenne pepper because it was slightly under seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
absolutely the best home made onion rings I have ever made. like a lot of the other reviewers, i seasoned the flour to my tastes, with seasoning salt and mediteranean herbs. very crispy coating with a nice texture to the onion underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Look no further......this is perfect! I wouldn't change one single thing. This method would work for almost any veggie/shrimp etc. I pre heated the oven to hold them as they cooked (drained on paper towels), till all were done. The impressive thing about this recipe is: they stayed crisp and didn't get soggy before all were eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My hubby and I loved these onion rings! I did use Bisquick, instead of just flour, and also added Cajun Seasoning. The only thing I would suggest is.......after making the flour mixture....take half of it and put in a baggy to use later...BECAUSE...after dipping in the liquid, then the flour mixture TWICE.....the flour mixture starts to gum up..so you can throw that and use the other half.....we will be making these again soon! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States