Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RobertEarl
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a good tea cake! I doubled the baking time and the bottoms were barely brown. (They didn't turn into rocks as I feared from some of the other reviews.) I used fresh ground nutmeg, and the hint of flavor is perfect. I might be brave enough to share the next batch with the ladies at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
AVERY FRIENDLY COOKIE RECIPE NOT HARD AT ALL.BUT IT CARRIES IT FLAVORS WELL. MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY HUSBAND ,HE HAS BEEN TALKING BOUT TEA CAKE COOKIES FOR 18 YRS TOO ME , HIS MOM MADE THEM WHEN HE WAS A BOY.THERE ARE SO MANY VERSIONS OF THIS RECIPE.BUT I GOT THE OK FROM HIM ,THEY MAY NOT BE EXACTLY HOW HIS MOM MADE THEM, BUT THEY WOULD SURELY PASS .SO TO ME .IM FINF WITH THAT,FOR NOW,THE REMAINDER OF THE DOUGH IS STORED IN FREEZER.FOR WHENEVER HE WANT ONE.. THANK YOU SO MUCH.LYNN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turtle
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My first batch of these, baked for 13 minutes and cooled on the pan for 5 were still a little undercooked. I had followed the advice on rolling them out without extra flour, and I think they were a little too wet. My second batch, I forgot were in the oven and ended up cooking for about 25 minutes. I just took them off the pan immediately and they were perfect. Whatever the case with the baking time, though, the result is quite tasty, with a delicate sweet flavor, and a nice soft and slightly chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are great as a sugar cookie. The ones that my Mother & Grandmother use to make wasn't as sweet as these are. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I am a 13 year old who loves to try new things. I wanted to have a tea party with my 2 little sisters so I tried these. The flavor was GREAT! I did use almond extract as its flavor is more stronger and It is my favorite flavoring. They had a great texture and were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside! great recipe! I would diffinatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I enjoyed these tea cakes. This my first time making it. I liked the simplicity of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband has been wanting me to find a good recipe for tea cakes like his Mother made. This recipe was it! I even made them with self rising flour & omitted the salt and soda, and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Just what I was searching for! To those who have had rolling pin issues, try this. Rather than rolling outward, which will often cause your dough to crack, roll along the edges, more TOWARD the center than away from it. It is the weight of the rolling pin that thins the dough. Rolling along the edges, inward is less likely to tear your dough. Also, while this type of dough needs to be chilled before rolling, it cannot be TOO cold or, again, it will tear. Persuade your dough with the rolling pin. No fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I stepped up to the challenge to make tea cakes for my husband that would be as good as his ex mother in law's were, fully expecting my first few attempts to fail. I looked at a few recipes and decided to try this one. He says I nailed it!! Thank you! They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
i made these teacakes they were off the chain my family love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cov1963
Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States