Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I don't usually care for sugar cookies, but I volunteered to bake 6 doz. for an event at my son's school. I tried 2 different recipes, and this one was awesome! I like nutmeg, so the flavor was perfect for me. If nutmeg isn't your thing, try substituting 2 tsp. of lemon, lime, or orange zest. Also, I added 3T of sour cream with the butter. It makes for very tender pastry. Since it's a fairly soft dough, chill as long as possible (I did overnight) so that you have to use a min. amount of flour for rolling. Better yet, roll between 2 sheets of waxed paper, remove the top sheet, cut the shapes without removing them, and put the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes to get them good and stiff again. They will pop out easily and the scraps can be re-rolled over and over since no flour was added in rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I am a caterer and was comissioned to do a southern ladies tea. The main request was for teacakes which I have never made but tasted a few times. This was the first recipe I came across and tried it today, the cookies are crisp on the outside and soft and chewy inside with a perfect amount of nutmeg. Just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
WHERE IN THE WORLD DID YOU GET MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE!!!!THESE WERE JUST LIKE THE ONES I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS LITTLE!!!!THANKS A MILLION!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I was afraid to try to knead this dough so I just put it in the fridge to chill. I could only wait about 5 minutes because I was so anxious to bake some. OMG I ended up eating the whole pan of cookies, again! I really can't taste the nutmeg but the cookies are fantastic. As usual I baked them on parchment paper and they were perfect. Light brown on the bottom and oh so tasty. Love, love, love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
THIS IS THE OLD FAASHIONED RECIPE I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR. IT'S JUST GREAT. I'LL PASS IT ON TO MY KIDS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
My great aunt used to make teacakes. She died and did not leave us the recipe. My teacakes turned out great! Just like my aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe took me back to when I was a little girl growing up in Forrest City, Arkansas. Ms. Lucy (a grandma figure) used to baby sit me and she made tea cakes that looked and tasted JUST LIKE these! I am almost 50 years old and I've tried many tea cake recipes trying to recapture the taste and texture of Ms. Lucy's tea cakes. Until now, I was unsuccessful. These cookies are absolutely delicious!!!! Not only are they delicious, but I get to savor wonderful memories of Ms. Lucy reaching into airtight plastic container (an empty lard bucket LOL) and saying, "Sweetie, would you like a tea cake?" :). Many thanks to the person who shared this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
These cookies are good . . . but ONLY if they are SOFT. Be sure to cook them only 8 min. They will continue baking as they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Another tip: I used Almond Extract instead of Vanilla (richer flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This recipe didn't taste like tea cakes to me, they tasted alot like flour. They also had an unpleasant texture, harder than most store bought cookies. No one would eat them after the first bite. I may have done something wrong but not sure what, I followed the recipe I cut from a roll instead of from cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I am 62 year old and I've been looking for tis recipes for years. My father used to bake these and they were to die for. (my father was from Mississippi and loved to bake) Through the years I've been searching for this recipes and never found it. Then one day I decided to try again and that's when I hit "pay dirt" I ran across this one! Honey, honey when I read the ingredients I knew this was "the" one I had been searching for. As stated they taste even better a day or two later. I made two batches for Christmas and my daughters' friends came over and had never had the honour of tasting tea cakes. I don't have to tell you the results. This has been a big hit and also introducing the younger generations to a little of their history to them. Baking from scratch is almost a dying issue - but thanks to recipes like this one - there is hope. I was sooooo excited to find this I called my brother (who also loves to cook and bake) and we both were jumping on the outside as well as on the inside. The key to this recipe is the NUTMEG! That's what makes the unique flavoring. For those of you who are thinking of trying it- you won't go wrong! So for all of you ladies (oooops sorry- gentlemen who love to cook/bake) add this to your recipe box. Like others - make more than one batch (freeze in seperate bags) so when the urge hits, you can have a fresh batch of "cookies" anytime. I have a taste for some right now and I have all of the ingredients. I feel a bake on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States