Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
reminded me of what my bigma used to make, not as crunchy as her's though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I normally don't make cut-out cookies, because I hadn't found a recipe for sugar cookies that I liked. For Valentine's day I wanted to do something different for my husband. I chose this recipe because of the added flavor of the nutmeg and iced the cookies with a buttercream icing. The cookies were a hit as soon as they were through--and they just got better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This recipe didn't taste like tea cakes to me, they tasted alot like flour. They also had an unpleasant texture, harder than most store bought cookies. No one would eat them after the first bite. I may have done something wrong but not sure what, I followed the recipe I cut from a roll instead of from cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are wonderful! I used this recipe for Christmas cookies, & they were delicious. I really love the nutmeg. The dough is a little sticky, so be sure to refridgerate it & don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I think that this is a great recipe. Everyone loved them, they taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
These tasted absolutely fabulous! I wasn't able to use a very intricate cookie-cutter, due to the softness of the dough, but my teacakes were very impressive, on taste alone! I scaled the recipe to make 5 dozen, and used almond extract instead of vanilla. I passed them out to the other tennants of my 10-story office building as a halloween treat, and to introduce myself as their new neighbor. I'm positive I made a great first impression! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've been looking for this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
One word describes these Tea Cakes "Delicious". Thanks Rhonda for this long sought after recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
The dough was crumbly at first which freaked me out, but once it was refrigerated it became firmer. Great cookies but don't let them overcook or they will break your teeth! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
These cookies are good . . . but ONLY if they are SOFT. Be sure to cook them only 8 min. They will continue baking as they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Another tip: I used Almond Extract instead of Vanilla (richer flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States