Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the recipe I have been looking for for 50 years. My grandmother used to make these when I was growing up, except during WWII she used lard instead of butter. I had forgoten the recipe and as soon as I saw this I know it was the one. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These are really good and easy,but just a little too sweet. Next time I will reduce the white sugar or try some brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I was afraid to try to knead this dough so I just put it in the fridge to chill. I could only wait about 5 minutes because I was so anxious to bake some. OMG I ended up eating the whole pan of cookies, again! I really can't taste the nutmeg but the cookies are fantastic. As usual I baked them on parchment paper and they were perfect. Light brown on the bottom and oh so tasty. Love, love, love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I am a caterer and was comissioned to do a southern ladies tea. The main request was for teacakes which I have never made but tasted a few times. This was the first recipe I came across and tried it today, the cookies are crisp on the outside and soft and chewy inside with a perfect amount of nutmeg. Just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
reminded me of what my bigma used to make, not as crunchy as her's though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I normally don't make cut-out cookies, because I hadn't found a recipe for sugar cookies that I liked. For Valentine's day I wanted to do something different for my husband. I chose this recipe because of the added flavor of the nutmeg and iced the cookies with a buttercream icing. The cookies were a hit as soon as they were through--and they just got better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This recipe didn't taste like tea cakes to me, they tasted alot like flour. They also had an unpleasant texture, harder than most store bought cookies. No one would eat them after the first bite. I may have done something wrong but not sure what, I followed the recipe I cut from a roll instead of from cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are wonderful! I used this recipe for Christmas cookies, & they were delicious. I really love the nutmeg. The dough is a little sticky, so be sure to refridgerate it & don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I think that this is a great recipe. Everyone loved them, they taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
These tasted absolutely fabulous! I wasn't able to use a very intricate cookie-cutter, due to the softness of the dough, but my teacakes were very impressive, on taste alone! I scaled the recipe to make 5 dozen, and used almond extract instead of vanilla. I passed them out to the other tennants of my 10-story office building as a halloween treat, and to introduce myself as their new neighbor. I'm positive I made a great first impression! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States