Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Just what I was searching for! To those who have had rolling pin issues, try this. Rather than rolling outward, which will often cause your dough to crack, roll along the edges, more TOWARD the center than away from it. It is the weight of the rolling pin that thins the dough. Rolling along the edges, inward is less likely to tear your dough. Also, while this type of dough needs to be chilled before rolling, it cannot be TOO cold or, again, it will tear. Persuade your dough with the rolling pin. No fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I stepped up to the challenge to make tea cakes for my husband that would be as good as his ex mother in law's were, fully expecting my first few attempts to fail. I looked at a few recipes and decided to try this one. He says I nailed it!! Thank you! They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
i made these teacakes they were off the chain my family love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cov1963
Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. It reminded me of my childhood when my grandma used to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These turned out really well! I made some for a potluck at my job and everyone loved them. As suggested by some of the other raters I made one batch with Almond extract and another using the Lemon, both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Thank you for uploading this recipe. I have been searching for one that taste like the tea cakes my grandmother used to make. This is the only one that suffice. Many of the other recipes I found contained too many ingredients. Although I was a child, I know my grandmother didn't use a slue of things, just simple everyday ingredients that were in her cabinets and refrigerator. I found the recipe last night and made the tea cakes/cookies today. They are wonderful. Filled with the aroma and taste of a rural southern childhood of long ago. I can't wait to send a batch to my siblings to get their reactions. The only problem I had was working with the dough. I'm not an expert on using a rolling pin. So, after allowing it to harden in the refrigerator, I just handled them as I would a cookie dough. I scooped a bit up in a ball and hand shaped them. What is funny is that the end results were all shapes and sizes, exactly like my nanna's. I guess she had a trouble working with her dough as well. Once again thank you, of all the recipes that I have found on this site. This is the one that is most dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate to spoil the great rating, but these are not quite the same taste as the elders in my family. The amount of nutmeg was only a hint and it leaves this tasting like a great butter cookie. Our family's recipe is more like a mini cookie cake. I wasn't sure how long to keep the dough refrigerated and after a few hours it was too hard to roll. After sitting out for 30 minutes it was ready. Keep the flour handy as you'll have to keep flouring your board and rolling pin unless you use wax paper on top and beneath the dough. This is great tasting dough and I think I preferred that over the actual cookie. Unfortunately, I'll have to keep searching for authentic tea cakes instead of these "cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe took me back to when I was a little girl growing up in Forrest City, Arkansas. Ms. Lucy (a grandma figure) used to baby sit me and she made tea cakes that looked and tasted JUST LIKE these! I am almost 50 years old and I've tried many tea cake recipes trying to recapture the taste and texture of Ms. Lucy's tea cakes. Until now, I was unsuccessful. These cookies are absolutely delicious!!!! Not only are they delicious, but I get to savor wonderful memories of Ms. Lucy reaching into airtight plastic container (an empty lard bucket LOL) and saying, "Sweetie, would you like a tea cake?" :). Many thanks to the person who shared this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Sorry, but these tasted like an eggy sugar cookie to me that was also too sugary. However, I divided the dough & added 1 teaspoon each of lemon zest & flavoring & that half was pretty good, but I don't think I'll save the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Perfect and decorate with grn red sugar at Christmas time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States