Grandma's Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The good: Unlike a lot of oatmeal raisin cookies I've tried on this site, these ones don't spread, or crumple when you try to take them off the sheet. The bad: The texture is gummy and doughy, and the flavor is weak. I've never used a cookie recipe that called for milk, maybe that was the problem here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Move over Gramma!! This cookie is perfect! A lovely spicy cookie that doesn't spread out when baked. I baked them 13 mins instead of 11. Recipe makes exactly way it says is does and I used the Pampered Chef medium size cookie scoop. Try this one and you'll never go back....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The perfect recipe. The were chewy and full of flavor. I left out the All spice and raisins. I didn't have any in my pantry but still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe, I used butter flavored shorting, cause I like the butter flavor, and added walnuts. I think this is such wonderful basic oatmean cookie recipe you could add whatever you wanted to it. I think next time I might try coconut or chocolate chips, maybe pineapple. It does make a big batch, but no problem, I left them in a container on the table and they were gone in 3 days, my family would grab a couple everytime they were here. This is diffently a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Unfortunately these turned out pretty bad for me. I ended up with extremely cake-like lumps that tasted good but were very very dry. Next time i will use a spinoff of my monster cookie recipe with cinnamon and cloves, some additional spices and just add raisins. It would definitely taste better. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
it was ok. to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I liked the spice of these cookies, but though they were soft, mine didn't come out moist! It was dry, more like a bread consistency than the chewy cookie I was expecting - what did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I was looking for a soft oatmeal cookie recipe with raisins and found the perfect one here. I started with 1/2 recipe, used 1/2 margarine and 1/2 shortening and used chocolate-covered raisins-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were flovorful, moist and chewy and the recipe makes heaps of cookies. Hooray!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very Good. Made it a little healthier by using Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and 1 cup applesuace in place of 1/2 the shortening. I also added 1 cup walnuts. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States