Grandma's Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The good: Unlike a lot of oatmeal raisin cookies I've tried on this site, these ones don't spread, or crumple when you try to take them off the sheet. The bad: The texture is gummy and doughy, and the flavor is weak. I've never used a cookie recipe that called for milk, maybe that was the problem here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Move over Gramma!! This cookie is perfect! A lovely spicy cookie that doesn't spread out when baked. I baked them 13 mins instead of 11. Recipe makes exactly way it says is does and I used the Pampered Chef medium size cookie scoop. Try this one and you'll never go back....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The perfect recipe. The were chewy and full of flavor. I left out the All spice and raisins. I didn't have any in my pantry but still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe, I used butter flavored shorting, cause I like the butter flavor, and added walnuts. I think this is such wonderful basic oatmean cookie recipe you could add whatever you wanted to it. I think next time I might try coconut or chocolate chips, maybe pineapple. It does make a big batch, but no problem, I left them in a container on the table and they were gone in 3 days, my family would grab a couple everytime they were here. This is diffently a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Unfortunately these turned out pretty bad for me. I ended up with extremely cake-like lumps that tasted good but were very very dry. Next time i will use a spinoff of my monster cookie recipe with cinnamon and cloves, some additional spices and just add raisins. It would definitely taste better. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
it was ok. to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I liked the spice of these cookies, but though they were soft, mine didn't come out moist! It was dry, more like a bread consistency than the chewy cookie I was expecting - what did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I was looking for a soft oatmeal cookie recipe with raisins and found the perfect one here. I started with 1/2 recipe, used 1/2 margarine and 1/2 shortening and used chocolate-covered raisins-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were flovorful, moist and chewy and the recipe makes heaps of cookies. Hooray!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very Good. Made it a little healthier by using Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and 1 cup applesuace in place of 1/2 the shortening. I also added 1 cup walnuts. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States