Grandma's Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by muskokabaker
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Are first time using the site. The cookies turnd out well not to hard to make and quick nice lage batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this recipe this morning exactly as the instructions say. It created the perfect oatmeal raisin cookie. Soft, moist, a little chewy, with plenty of raisins. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. My husband and 10 year old son give it rave reviews, too. It's now in the permanent cookie recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mackieh
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I did like the flavor with all the spices but the cake - like texture was not expected and a little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
A little on the bland side. Very cakey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Cookies came out like a dry cake rather than a cookie. Tasted like way too much flour in the recipe. I used this in place of my old tried and true recipe that my son loves due to being out of town. will wait until I get home and post my recipe for all who where looking for a soft moist chewy cookie with a little crunch around the edges!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great starter recipe. My granddaughter and I however made a number of adjustments. We added soft margarine instead of shortening. We substituted nutmeg for the allspice and omitted the cloves. We substituted vanilla yogurt for the milk. We educed the vanilla by half as we had used vanilla yogurt. For the raisins we did 1/2 raisins and 1/2 dried cranberries. We also added a 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips. We also used parchment paper which allowed us to eliminate the grease needed for the pan. So far the best oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
These cookies are delicious! I used 1 cup of butter flavored shortening and 1 cup of regular shortening. I didn't have any allspice , so I just doubled the cinnamon and cloves and threw in a little ground ginger too. YUM!! So much flavor. I like the fact that it makes such a large batch because I like to have extra cookie dough in the freezer, so I can whip up cookies for the kiddos after school. I baked half the dough and froze the other half...perfect. This recipe is a keeper!!!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runningmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were fantastic. My husband who does not like Oatmeal Raisin cookies ate the whole batch that were supposed to be for gifts and HE made another 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
They're very moist and tasty, they're one of my family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe to use. My grandkids aged 7 and 3 love to help and they are perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States