Grandma's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
fantastic, at school my friends fought over crumbs and begged for the recipe but i prefer it without raisins! To avoid it getting it too cakey use more oats and less flour or whole oats instead of quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
You are right grandmas oatmeal raisin cookies are the best. i;ve baked them and found them to be very moist,excellent, Thank you. Josie,R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I'd have to say this recipie almost has it. I was looking at the picture trying to figure out why the edges had gone flush with the pan and burned, so I tried this recipie. Turns out the dough is too sticky. I had to add another half cup of oats. Oatmeal cookies should be sticky, but should not 'melt' in the oven. I also added baking powder for a fluffier oatmeal cookie, and substituted walnuts for raisons. I also cut the white sugar in half and added brown sugar, as is customary in oatmeal cookies. I think the original recipie functions more like 'drop' cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
These were way to "cakey" for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were delicious! I always use old fashioned oats instead of quick oats in my cookie recipes and it prevents them from being too "cakey". I might try to make them with chocolate chips next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOCOMARIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
sasa brought them in to school today they are the lushest things eva!!! especialy since Sasa made she is a great cook you have got to try these they are sooooooo nice but just make sure you dont over cook them otherwise you will bake all the moisture out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a good recipe. I enjoy adding my grandmother's secret ingredient: one ripe, mashed banana! It's still cake like but with a new twist. We love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These cookies are very yummy and very easy to make. I substituted chocolate chips for raisins ( I used 6 TBS of plain water to sub the raisin water) and they turned out amazing!! I will definately be making these cookies again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Wonderful cookies and you are right no one does it like grandma Thanxz for the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
cake-like cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States