Grandma's Noodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe & so simple. I used my food processor. Just mix the egg & milk together in one bowl & put the dry ingredients in the processor bowl. Put the top on,turn on the processor & slowly pour the wet ingredients through the food chute. In just seconds, it will form a ball. Stop the processor immediately & VOILA that's all there is to it! Just have to roll it out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I have made these for years. I don't use the baking powder and I roll them as thin as I can. The broth is what really makes them good. I just use some cans of chicken broth and add a few bullion cubes to it to make it stronger. Everyone loves it and I am asked to make it a lot. To keep from making a big mess you can roll it out onto some floured wax paper and toss the wax paper flour and all when you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My family loves it when I make these noodles for my chicken noodle soup. I have made these several times with baking powder, w/o baking powder, rolled thin, rolled thick, dried out , not dried out. Personally like to add the baking powder it makes them a bit more airy, I also like them rolled thicker, & they don't need to be dried out at all. I make them & in to the pot they go,very quick & easy. These noodles are also great the next day as they sit over night in the soup they don't get mushy. Yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I use an extra large egg and 1 1/2 cups of flour-no baking powder/Ukrainian recipe ( I am Ukrainian) I have been using for many years. I boil my noodles separately in salted/oiled water. The flour in the noodles would make the soup too starchy therefore cook noodles separately el dente. I fry pieces of chicken in spices, steam carrots separately and add green onions and finely chopped celery and then add all to the chicken. I drain the noodles and add some to each bowl and pour soup over the noodles. If noodles are left in the soup, they would get too soft. Once noodles are ready,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Good recipe but should definitely double amount for a family of 4. To make sure noodles aren't tough, do not knead. Kneading this at all will make a rubbery, tough noodles. Mix the dough until ingredients are just combined. I mix all the ingredients in a KitchenAid mixer then rolled it out by hand. To minimize overworking the dough, mix all the wet ingredients first before adding to the flour. I then divided the dough ball into two halves (4 sections if doubling the recipe) and wrapped in plastic to let it sit for about 20 min to let the gluten relax. This will make rolling easier and prevent shrinking. I then cut the pasta with a pizza cutter and immediately cooked them. No need to wait 2 hrs. Also, I found 1/4 tsp of baking powder was plenty to give the pasta some airiness. Freezes well too, just make sure to flour cut noodles well before freezing. A great simple recipe. 4 stars for lack of directions, 5 stars for recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I, too, didn't realize how easy it is to make your own noodles! The only suggestion I have is to make sure you flour the surface that you are rolling them out on, otherwise the dough can be a little sticky. They do nearly double in size once you boil them. I boiled them for 5 minutes in a pot of water with one chicken stock cube, drained them, and then added the noodles to my homemade chicken noodle soup that was boiling for the last 5 minutes. I did not use the baking powder. I will definitely make these again! Thanks for this easy, yet delicious, noodle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I was surprised how little work it took to make noodles, especially since I used my stand mixer and dough hook to mix the dough. Using a pizza cutter makes cutting the dough into strips quick and easy. Great addition to homemade chicken noodle soup! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Great comfort food. Follow directions and there is no way to mess these up. I boil a whole chicken with onion, celery, bay leaf,salt and pepper corns covered in water. Strain broth and remove chicken from bone. Cook noodles in broth then add chicken at the last minute. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I like the fact that this recipe has much better directions than the Grandmas Noodles 1 recipe did! Very easy to make and taste great in soups or as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I enjoyed the fact that I made my own noodles...never did I imagine doing this. As I was reading the reviews, I noticed people saying how fast and easy these were - they didn't seem so fast to me. The drying for 2 hours part really slowed down my process. If I'm going to use them in a pot of soup, do I still need to let them dry? I told my husband to not dismiss them becaues it was my first shot, so we're going to perfect this and have the best darn homemade noodles!!!! I will use this recipe again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States