Grandma's Noodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Made them without baking soda for chicken soup. Simple to make, though my Kitchenaid dough hook did not reach low enough in the bowl, so I used my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These noodles are fantastic! They go perfectly in my chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
If you like homemade noodles, you better double this recipe because it won't be enough for everybody! Tastes just like grandma made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Good recipe but should definitely double amount for a family of 4. To make sure noodles aren't tough, do not knead. Kneading this at all will make a rubbery, tough noodles. Mix the dough until ingredients are just combined. I mix all the ingredients in a KitchenAid mixer then rolled it out by hand. To minimize overworking the dough, mix all the wet ingredients first before adding to the flour. I then divided the dough ball into two halves (4 sections if doubling the recipe) and wrapped in plastic to let it sit for about 20 min to let the gluten relax. This will make rolling easier and prevent shrinking. I then cut the pasta with a pizza cutter and immediately cooked them. No need to wait 2 hrs. Also, I found 1/4 tsp of baking powder was plenty to give the pasta some airiness. Freezes well too, just make sure to flour cut noodles well before freezing. A great simple recipe. 4 stars for lack of directions, 5 stars for recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Perfect. I made these last week and have been given orders to make them again soon by the most picky eaters on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars...it took some getting used to, my first time making pasta. I made a creamy/meditarranean/chicken mixture and fold the cooked pasta in. Topped with cheese and into a warm oven (just so the cheese melts) and sprinkled the top with dried parsely. DH was VERY impressed. I didn't mention that i made the pasta from scratch, but i got stopped during the meal and asked, "where did u buy this pasta? It's amazing."....Enough said :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
A WINNER! Great texture. Noodle lovers: double the recipe. Didn't use baking powder. Didn't let dry, cooked right away. For more flavor, cook in salted water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these today to add to homemade turkey/veggie soup. They were really, really good. I cut back on the salt, but think I will use the full amount next time. I did not add baking powder. I rolled them really thin (on parchment)and cut narrow. Can't wait to try them for chicken 'n dumplins. Trust me, they are very, very good. Followed the recipe as directed (except for the salt). They are surprisingly easy and I know what is going into them!! A definite 5+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
this is great, ........it's how my mom made them! I use about a teaspoon of poultry seasoning with mine. I add chicken boullion and cook in the broth I had cooked the chicken it..........yes it gets starchy but what's comfort food all about?? No need to dry the noodles first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I really wish they had half star option because to me its really more like a 4 1/2 stars. I needed to add extra milk (almost 1/4 cup) to get the dough to get like its suppose to. I rolled the noodles out thin and i left out the baking powder. They took awhile longer to cook then what i thought but They turned out well. I just wished i had something to compare it too. My two year old loved the noodles in his soup and they looked exactly as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States