Grandma's Noodles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wonderful flavor and texture. I used them for my homemade alfredo (just low-fat cream cheese and enough milk to create the perfect consistancy, creamed together and heated, some times I add a touch of nutmeg) and I don't think I can use dry store bought noodles for it ever again! Now thats comfort food. I did double the recipe for 4 entree size portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've tried several Noodles recipes. So far this one is the best! I used all the ingredients, including the baking powder & mix it my mixer, then cut it with the pasta attachment. I didn't dry the noodles, but boiled them right away. They were so good. This one is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
these came out a bit dense, not quite what i was looking for but still very good. I think i'm going to play around with these a bit next time. I did not use the baking powder. EDIT: These are my favorite noodles! They turned out to be exactly what I was looking for after sitting in the soup overnight in the fridge and were perfect when I defrosted some soup I had frozen. I've made them a dozen times now and this is the easiest way I've found: I make these in my food processor, I combine all the dry ingredients and pulse in the wet ones until combined and dough forms into a ball that pulls away from the sides and then roll out the dough. Keep in mind that these to grow when cooked so roll them out thinner than you think you need to and cut them smaller than the size you desire. Oh if making for a group of 4 or more you're going to want to double the recipe or triple it if making a large batch of soup to freeze. I now make extras because they're the favorite part of the soup in our house. Try this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Was a fantastic addition to my homemade chicken soup last nigth. They were perfect!!! Super easy to make, my 7 year old did most of the work! Only thing I would do differently would be to double the recipe, didn't have quite enough for the likes of my family. We love our noodles!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I love homemade noodles and these are easy and taste fantastic. The only thing I don't do is dry the noodles- not necessary. I throw them in a bowl, sprinkle in a little flour, so everyone gets coated a little and chuck them into boiling chicken stock (with shredded chicken already in it) and cook just until the noodles are done and the broth thickens up. I love chicken and noodles over mashed potatoes. Yes, it's heavy on the starch, but boy, is it ever good (Midwest-style) eating. My mom used to fix it that way when I was a little girl and I'm proud to carry on the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were some of the best homemade noodles I have ever made. This recipe is one I will now use all the time. Hubby loves homemade noodles, and was really impressed with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
so simple, easy, and really really good! i used baking powder, and didn't dry them. my sick neigbor i am cooking for thought i went all out! i have always made my own noodles but my ingredients were not exact. these are just the right amounts in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I liked this simple recipe but made the following changes. Since it said baking powder optional, when I doubled the recipe I only used half as much baking powder. I also cooked in broth almost instantly after running it through my noodle press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptubbs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with these, now a days, it's hard to come across recipes (at lest on the internet) where you don't need nifty and highly expensive tools or gadgets to do your prep work for you. I just found out that unless you use a blendeder, this recipe doesn't mix right. I was looking for something a little more old fashioned where you can make a flour and dry ingrediant mountain with a little pool at the top with your eggs and wet ingrediants to go into and mix all together, but I found this to be too much flour. I was afraid ,because I couldn't test try these, of adding another egg or too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Noodles II

See how to make homemade soup noodles.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States