Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! It's simple but produces a lovely, buttery, VERY moist & delicious cake. I'm a cake designer and I have tried lots of recipes and this is my new "go to" yellow cake recipe. Not only is it delicious but it is nice and sturdy and will hold up to fondant nicely. I paired it with a small amount of my whipped buttercream icing and fresh strawberry filling. (But great without icing as well) Perfect! My Thanks to Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina LeGrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shante Chambliss
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My 3 year old daughter made this cake recipe with my assistance. But OMG it is so Moist & So Yummy..!!! We will be making it again but as cupcakes next time..!!! Thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante Chambliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceyanne1220
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was excellent! I made it for my sons first birthday and he really loved it! I followed the recipe to a T, receipt I only used 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract as opposed to a tablespoon. it was delicious and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe. I've been trying for years to find a recipe that didn't taste like cardboard. This recipe is easy and delicious. I actually made a marble cake with this and it turned out to be the best tasting cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I made cupcakes and wow!They baked beautifully, perfectly moist and DELICIOUS! Didn't have self rising flour, used all purpose flour I converted. Simple, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I tried this recipe as a cupcake and unfortunately with it being in my oven for about 5 to 7 minutes they ended up burning on the outside of the cupcake. Wish I could give this recipe a zero but there is no option for that. I followed the directions to the exact and the burning was the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Just finish making this cake. Made it just the way you said and it came out perfect.I will make this one again. Next ttime I'm invited to a gathering I will make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! It's very hard to find a white/yellow cake that is this moist. The flavor is delicious also. I've used it several times and it's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved how simple it was to put together the ingredients. However, for some odd reason my butter melted and it was barely softened and the batter became watery. Maybe it's my location not sure or my kitchen aid. However the taste was there and they ended up coming out okay and will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States