Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
it couldn't have been more moist than I wanted! It was stupendous. I am so glad I found this easy wonderful yellow cake recipe. Will definitely will be using it for the next I bake, everyone's going to love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used dark coffee and walnut extract instead of milk and vanilla. The cake was moist,and buttery. we used fleishmens (spelling?) 70% less cholesterol butter sticks. I also used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup stevia instead of 2 cups sugar.We blend our regular sugar with stevia in equal parts. It still tastes like sugar but we are cutting our sugar intake in half! The cake was tender,I think because of creaming the butter and sugar well and adding eggs slowly.We are picky eaters and we loved it! I will make this same cake in many different flavors in the years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I got 3 dozen cupcakes from this recipe. It had a "cornbread" texture. Too much butter? My cupcakes sunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Tried this last night came out very well but I wanted a lemon cake. I substituted vanilla extract for lemon. And if I had thought about lemon zest should have gone in too. But all in all the cake baked beautifully and yes smacking the pans before putting them in the oven will prevent the domes of doom. And I'd have to disagree with everyone about the two 9" cake pans I used them and it didn't overflow came close but my pans held It I'm thinking I must have deeper pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. It is rich and moist. I didn't have enough white sugar so I used three fourths brown sugar as a substitute. I baked it in one "9" springform pan for about 70 minutes, lowered the temp to 340 for the last half hour and it turned out great. The brown sugar made it taste like toffee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon Isaac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
th best receip for moist vamilla sponge cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I was hesitant to try this recipe. With the short list of ingredients how could it taste like a made from scratch cake that I wanted to serve to at the office to celebrate a co-worker's birthday? The coworker requested yellow cake with chocolate frosting. It seemed like such a simple and plain request and I was hoping to make something a little more elaborate. I am very glad I tried this recipe. The flavor was wonderful although I think it tasted more like a vanilla cake than the normal yellow cake. It was moist and delicious and I received many compliments. I will definitely make this recipe again and will experiment using other icing flavors with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My cake turned out OK. The batter tasted SOOO GOOD, I was expecting the baked version to taste better than it did. My cake was a little grainy (?) and just didn't taste like much. Very light, fluffy, and crumbly. I wonder if adding a box of pudding mix would help make it more flavorful and just a bit more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this cake!!!! I got this tip from a navy cook to add Greek yogurt to get it even more moist (I added a small $1 cup from Wal-Mart). I was so surprised because I struggle in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalisa Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty and moist cake. I used regular flour and just added the baking powder and salt. I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar since I don't like my cakes super sweet and I added orange zest to the mix. I have dozens of tried cake recipes in my files and I will be adding this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States