Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this for a family get together on Memorial Day weekend. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. From reading other reviews, I zested roughly 1tbs and squeezed 1/2 cup of lemon juice (which ended up being 2 lemons as the recipe says). Once I poured the eggs into my sugar mixture, I only let it boil a minute more so it didn't get too thick. I also baked the pie crust in the oven until it was slightly golden before pouring the curd inside. I used my mixer to make the meringue and poured it over the warm curd. Once out of the oven, I let it sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then put it in the fridge for an additional 5 hours to let it firm up. Another great recipe to keep in my recipe box! I love tartness, so maybe next time I may add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
First time making lemon meringue pie from scratch. WOW was it delicious. Made the filling and meringue exactly as the recipe is written (but used baked graham cracker crust). Lemon juice came out to about 1/2 cup. Don't use milk if you want a real lemon meringue pie! Perfect tang and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe didn't need any tweeting! It's perfect just the way it is. Super fast and perfect for a summer evening desert after the scotching heat of the day. Definitely going to make this again and again. My meringue didn't pull away and my zest totally melted away. And I didn't have to cook it for 14 minutes. WOW I bet yours was really really thick. Mine was perfect and it couldn't have been any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
this pie is fantastic!!!!! I left out the lemon zest and added a couple of small squirts of yellow food colouring to the filling. The meringue was about 3 inches high as I really piled it up. I also added cream of tartar to the meringue. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
First time I made this and it was outstanding! Dad just loved it. I'm making another one real soon. So happy I found this recipe. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Yum! I didn't use as much sugar as called for, and also added about 1 tsp of turmeric to the filling. It was delicious! I also added lemon juice to the meringue, which added a nice extra lemony touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This recipe is marvelous! And i also used this lemon curd recipe as a filling in my cakes! Works very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The first time I made the meringue pie. Excellent! Not as hard as it may sound. However, I think I might exclude the zest or cut down the lemons because the lower part seemed a bit bitter. Definitely will make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Very delicious lemon meringue pie! One of the best I found so far....... my only complaint is that there wasn't enough of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Fantastic on the first try. I changed the serving size to 12 and it was perfect for my deep-dish pie plate. I whipped the meringue VERY stiff and the curd came out perfectly, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States