Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
First time making a Lemon Meringue pie and it was awesome. Only issue I had was I should have blind baked my pie crust a bit longer. I did use the same technique for making cream pies that another user suggested, bring curd to a boil, boil 1 minute and after tempering the eggs boil another minute. My curd set up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saharajones
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made exactly to recipe and it was very good. All at the extended family holiday meal thoroughly enjoyed it. I tend to like a bite from lemon so next time I'll use juice and zest from three instead of two lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Awesome! I did follow the other reviewers and used milk instead of water, used three lemons - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I am making this recipe and it's on the stove waiting to cool. I just want to shove it in my face it looks so good!!!!!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
So good! My husband absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
lemon cusard, excellant. Meringue to perfection...paired it with your cream cheese and butter pie crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this exactly according to the recipe (only baking for 12 minutes to get the meringue the proper golden brown). This was my first time making a meringue pie and it turned out perfect and delicious! I cracked the eggs first to separate them, because I had read that it is easier to separate the yolks and whites of cold eggs, then let the whites sit at room temperature because they whip up easier when not as cold (I also made the meringue using my kitchen-aid, which I'm sure helped out a lot). With the two lemons I used, I got about 1 tablespoon of zest, and 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I used a pre-made frozen pie crust, which I baked ahead of time. After baking the completed pie, I let it cool at room temperature for an hour, then in the fridge for 3 hours, according to the video instructions on this recipe. I tented some aluminum foil over it, leaving a little gap to help the moisture escape, as a previous reviewer had suggested. I think I will make the meringue before the filling next time, only because it separated a bit from the filling, but the taste and texture was still incredible. Thank you for a delicious, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
All I can say is... Wow. I've never been a huge lemon pie fan, but for some reason I have been on a lemon kick lately so I decided to try this and I was so happy I did! We are watching our sugar intake, so I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup plus about 1/4 cup of Stevia and it worked out great. The merengue came out perfect as well -- I was proud of myself! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I used a graham cracker crust and this turned out really yummy. I also made another substituting lime for lemon and I liked it even better. I plan to try it again but I'm hoping to find a substitute for the flour as I need something gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States