Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Penny Shea
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This pie is awesome ! My husband never liked lemon pie now he cleans it up. I love that I can use fresh lemons off our trees and it turns out perfect every time. I did adjust the meringue thou I do as the recipe calls but I add 1/8 cream of Tartar and a drop of white Mexican vanilla Gives the meringue a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Definitely needs some changes, mine turned out a little too tart the flavours weren't quite balanced so for the filling next time I would: -add more sugar or less lemon to the filling (I had large lemons so that might be the issue, the filling was too acidic) -filling was OK. The consistency was not thick enough so as in other reviews add more cornstarch!!! -more meringue less filling, I found the ratio was unbalanced -DO NOT USE A STORE BOUGHT CRUST, my biggest mistake was that, although the pre-made works for some pies, it really doesn't stand up to this one enough- definitely roll out a thicker crust for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate cockbain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Consuelo Smith
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Consuelo Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vbiddle
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great recipe I added half teaspoon of cream of tartar to the meringue came out great and tasted great. Grandkids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Just made this recipe using the suggestion of milk and lemon juice instead of plain water. Excellent!!! Easy and delicious! Greeneyedlady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I followed the recipe as written and I wouldn't change a thing. This pie is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snoozyq
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe is so yummy and I will never but store bought filling again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Muniz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Love this recipe just like what my grandmother made and I'm so glad I found it because most of her recipes were not written down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Muniz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA
Living In: Readfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
After not making a lemon meringue pie for almost 18 years because it was so hard I decided to try again. I've made my second one in a week and have requests to make a few more from friends and family. Very easy recipe! I suggest you let the egg whites for the meringue get to room temp. They whip up in about 15 minutes. I also added 1 extra egg white and 1 extra tsp sugar to meringue to make it even higher. I also baked it a little longer. 15 minutes. It came out perfect! Will recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States