Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! I didn't have fresh lemons, so I used bottled lemon juice. It came out perfectly. A couple people had seconds on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly (with the exception of a little extra lemon zest, as i like a tart pie.) And it came out great.. I wouldn't tweak it at all. the curd set good and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Had a great tangy yet sweet filling and the meringue was nice and the right consistency. I like a lot of meringue so I doubled the meringue! Turned out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made mine gluten free!! Instead of flour I substituted equal amount of Trader Joe's gluten free flour mix. I used these modifications from CARTHECOOK 's suggestions in her review: Filling: 1-1/4c sugar (regular granules), 3-1/2 TBSP corn starch Meringue: mixed for about 2 minutes then added 1/2 tsp cream of tartar & 1 tsp vanilla extract. I let it beat for the amount of time it took me to wash a few dishes - maybe 3 minutes or so. It came out stiff and fluffy. The filling was super thick before even adding the egg yolks. The pies are in the fridge now, but I don't doubt they will be perfect! A little hint: Use farm fresh eggs for increased color and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved making this recipe, simple and so much fun to make. I have found my go to recipe for a lemon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have been baking since I was allowed to use the oven but I've never made lemon meringue pie...it just seemed so intimidating. I tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly. I still can't believe I actually made it. I loved the flavor and the meringue. I used shortbread crust and thought it complimented the filling nicely. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
this the best lemon meringue pie I have ever had!!!...Iv made this pie several times and it always goes in one place setting...you actually get one 9 inch pie...I never changed a thing in this recipe(first time ever ). Made exactly how the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is great. Just made smaller version using 3eggs and poured into 4 small pie pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
First time making a lemon meringue pie--or meringue for that matter! This pie turned out wonderful! It disappeared at my family gathering. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I got a sample of All Recipes magazine and found it in there. When I was flipping through it it made me crave something lemony. I am so glad I tried it. It is an awesome summer snack by the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States